Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

ANNE B. (prairiegrass1) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Review Date: 4/2/2015


I loved this book. I was half way through it before I was told it was a YA book. It didn't matter at all. It is sometimes funny, often heart breaking and always beautifully written. I haven't been able to part with the book yet.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1021
Review Date: 8/4/2012


I loved this book. I care nothing about auto racing, but learned some about it anyway. I do love dogs. Very readable, philosophic, makes-you-think-about-it-again type book. Ending a little trite, just should have stopped a little sooner. But after such a good book, I forgive the author that. Not quite ready to give the book up yet.


Chevys Fresh Mex Cookbook
Chevys Fresh Mex Cookbook
Author: Ten Speed Press
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/19/2015


Love this cookbook! It's pretty to look at, good recipes that are easy to follow and just plain fun.


Come to Grief (Sid Halley, Bk 3)
Come to Grief (Sid Halley, Bk 3)
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Exciting Dick Francis mystery--great for horse lovers, too.


COYOTE WAITS
COYOTE WAITS
Author: TONY HILLERMAN
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Tony Hillerman mysteries are the best!


Death Takes Passage (Jessie Arnold, Bk 4)
Death Takes Passage (Jessie Arnold, Bk 4)
Author: Sue Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 3/23/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I've enjoyed some of this authors's books (Murder on the Ididarod, The End of the Road), but this one didn't make it. It was wordy, improbable and did not hold my interest. I guess if I were fascinated by gold rush stories, it would have been better.


Deck the Halls (Alvirah Meehan, Regan Reilly)
Deck the Halls (Alvirah Meehan, Regan Reilly)
Author: Mary Higgins Clark, Carol Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 2/24/2007


A heartwarming story of suspense, with a hearty dose of holiday cheer, from Mary Higgins Clark and her daughter Carol Higgins Clark.


The Edge
The Edge
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Trains and horse-racing--a good mystery!


A Family Resemblance (Harlequin Superromance, No 1357) (Larger Print)
A Family Resemblance (Harlequin Superromance, No 1357) (Larger Print)
Author: Margot Early
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This book was boring and forgettable. I have read several earlier novels by this author. Even though romance novels, the writing was rich and well done. That was not the case here.


Feeding the Hungry Heart:  The Experience of Compulsive Eating
Feeding the Hungry Heart: The Experience of Compulsive Eating
Author: Geneen Roth
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/16/2006


Breaking free of compulsive eating disorders.


Flying Changes  (Annemarie Zimmer, Bk 2)
Flying Changes (Annemarie Zimmer, Bk 2)
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 6/21/2015


This book was not well written. I was surprised how mundane and obvious the plot was and how unlikable the female lead. Disappointing.


High Country Fall (Judge Deborah Knott, Bk 10)
High Country Fall (Judge Deborah Knott, Bk 10)
Author: Margaret Maron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Featuring popular Judge Deborah Knott, this mystery explores the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, where leaves are turning...and corpses are deadly still.


High Tide in Tucson: Essays from Now or Never
High Tide in Tucson: Essays from Now or Never
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Excellent essays from an award-winning author--sharing thoughts on the "urgent business of being alive".


L is for Lawless (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 12)
L is for Lawless (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 12)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Typically good Kinsey fun.


Men in Blue (Badge of Honor, Bk 1)
Men in Blue (Badge of Honor, Bk 1)
Author: W. E. B. Griffin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 5/15/2013


This series is a good group of police procedurals. I've enjoyed the characters. The sexism is blatant and awful...that's my only big complaint. If you can get past that, they are enjoyable, predictable, very readable books.


Mistaken Identity (Rosato & Associates, Bk 4)
Mistaken Identity (Rosato & Associates, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/14/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book. It would have been much better if edited to 300 pages instead of almost 500. Frequently, a sentence would have worked better and cleaner than several paragraphs. It's a 1999 book, so perhaps the author learned this. The characters are interesting. The plot lines are sometimes pretty farfetched. Good to read a book centered on professional women!


Murder on the Iditarod Trail (Jessie Arnold, Bk 1)
Murder on the Iditarod Trail (Jessie Arnold, Bk 1)
Author: Sue Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 1/17/2013


A good story. But mainly, I loved the history and commentary on the race, the mushers, the dogs and the Alaskan scenery. I liked it! My favorite of hers so far.


Pigs in Heaven
Pigs in Heaven
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 2/24/2007


One of the best novels ever.


The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels
The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels
Author: Ree Drummond
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 4/1/2013


Fun read. If you enjoy her blog, you'll enjoy this book.


R is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 18)
R is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 18)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 349
Review Date: 2/24/2007


One of the best of the series.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: