Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Karen F. (cosmichomicide) - Reviews

41 to 60 of 135 - Page:
A Deeper Sleep (Kate Shugak, Bk 15)
A Deeper Sleep (Kate Shugak, Bk 15)
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I love this series and normally don't give it anything less than 4 stars - Stabenow has interesting characters, good plots and a clean writing style. This particular book didn't feel as "Alaskan" as her earlier ones and Kate's private life didn't really advance, so the book pretty much rode on the primary plot alone. The main plot, while solid and concluding with all loose ends tied up, just wasn't satisfying. If you are a fan of the series, by all means read the book. If new to it - start at the beginning.


Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 7/6/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I have thoroughly enjoyed this series, including this book, but felt it was the weakest so far. While not graphic in the way of LKH (something for which I am grateful), Sookie's lovelife has taken some confusing twists and turns, not all for the better. I also found this book to be overly concerned with "getting everyone in" to the point that some characters felt like they were simply doing cameos to make sure they weren't forgotten. Still, nicely done, a well structured mythos, light and funny - a must for series fans, for new readers, start at the beginning - there are revelations in this book that will undermine your enjoyment of earlier books.


Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 569
Review Date: 1/25/2006
Helpful Score: 11


I'd really like to say that I loved this book, but I didn't. Generally, medical and science mysteries are among my favorites and, while I will probably continue with this series, I found this book rather rough. The science was excellent and well done, obviously showing the author's knowledge and experience in the field, but neither the characters nor the plot particularly engaged me. Worth reading, just not a great first entry into a series.


Dhampir (Noble Dead, Bk 1)
Dhampir (Noble Dead, Bk 1)
Author: Barb Hendee, J. C. Hendee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 312
Review Date: 4/12/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Uninspired entry into the genre - nothing particularly engaging about the characters, nothing new or different in the mythos, predictable plot. There are lots of great reads out there, this isn't one of them.


Disappearing Nightly (Esther Diamond, Bk 1)
Disappearing Nightly (Esther Diamond, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Resnick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/27/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Oh, I really really liked this book! It can only be described as a paranormal mystery romp - fast paced, funny, quirky with a completely over the top cast of characters. The plot was a little uneven in places, but it is completely forgiveable in a first series book. Set in NYC the cast consists of actresses, drag queens, detectives, magicians (as in cutting the lady in half) and, naturally, eccentric 300 year old sorcerors. Lots of fun.


Drag Strip (A Sierra Lavotini Mystery)
Drag Strip (A Sierra Lavotini Mystery)
Author: Nancy Bartholomew
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fun series - Sierra Lavotini, stripper and sleuth from Panama City, FL solves crimes while refining her stage art. Occasionally awkward, but a great group of "characters" surrounding Sierra, making for a light, funny mystery. Were it not for occupation, this would otherwise be considered a cozy.


Engaged to Die  (Death on Demand, Bk 14)
Engaged to Die (Death on Demand, Bk 14)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 8/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not the best of the Death on Demand series, but good stuff with all the expected elements. Feels a bit like a "swing book" - the normally well drawn characters seem a little wooden, the plot a bit forced. Still, a good light cozy.


The English Breakfast Murder (Tea Shop, Bk 4)
The English Breakfast Murder (Tea Shop, Bk 4)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 12/11/2006
Helpful Score: 5


I really want to like this series more than I do - the characters are interesting and have great chemistry, the tea information is great and the recipes are wonderful. I just can't get past the fact that Theodosia *seems* far older than she is represented in the books. Beyond that, this was a well written entry into the series and an enjoyable read.


An Ensuing Evil and Others : Fourteen Historical Mysteries
An Ensuing Evil and Others : Fourteen Historical Mysteries
Author: Peter Tremayne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Peter Tremayne is best known as the author of the Sister Fidelma historical ecclesiastical mysteries, but this anthology of short stories involves a variety of detectives across a span of historical periods. Each is written with the same quality and attention to historic detail and accuracy as the Fidelma mysteries and, while I'm never sure I'll like it when an author moves from the character I know and love, this was a thoroughly enjoyable read. There is a Fidelma story included and only one story seemed out of place (and a bit too easy to solve), as it was set on an airplane with a modern feel. The anthology is a good read for any fan of historical mysteries, whether or not they are familiar with Tremayne's works.


Film Strip (Sierra Lavotini, Bk 3)
Film Strip (Sierra Lavotini, Bk 3)
Author: Nancy Bartholomew
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/30/2007


Unfortunately, this series seems to have been abandoned at 4 books, but all four are light, breezy, funny reads. Set in Panama City, FL the main character is a dancer at a men's club, solving crimes on the side with the help of her more than eccentric alien hunting neighbor and her attack chihuahua. There is occasional rough language and some jarring sex scenes that throw off the fast pace and don't really seem integrated into the author's writing style.


A Fine and Bitter Snow (Kate Shugak, Bk 12)
A Fine and Bitter Snow (Kate Shugak, Bk 12)
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 1/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Two friends of Kate's grandmother are brutally attacked in their cabin on their eco-retreat - as Kate investigates she once more finds out that the actions of the present often hinge on the decisions of the past. Well done book, critical character development for long term fans.


Firestorm (Weather Warden, Bk 5)
Firestorm (Weather Warden, Bk 5)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 9/3/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This is essentially the second half of Windfall (Book 4) with the last chapter being the first chapter of Book 6. The series concept is interesting and unique among paranormals, the characters are strong, the ideas are good. Caine doesn't seem to feel that is enough to keep folks reading, however, and ends most of the books in a rather annoying "Tune in tomorrow, folks, for the next world threatening adventure" manner, ripping any sense of satisfaction from the reader. Start at the beginning and make sure you have them all before you start or be prepared for frustration.


Flashback (Anna Pigeon, Bk 11)
Flashback (Anna Pigeon, Bk 11)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 7/8/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Not the best, nor a typical entry into the series. I found the flashing back and forth between the two time periods distracting and the pulling together of the two to be overly convenient, but the new characters introduced are very good and the modern day part of the book makes for a good read overall. If you are new to this series, start at the beginning.


Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 763
Review Date: 12/11/2006
Helpful Score: 7


Fun, fun series - Sam Spade meets Harry Potter vs. the FBI. This book shapes up better than the first in terms of character development and is long on action as well with a variety of types of werewolves, lycanthropes, etc. ripping through the landscape.


Fortune Like the Moon (Hawkenlye, Bk 1)
Fortune Like the Moon (Hawkenlye, Bk 1)
Author: Alys Clare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful debut to what promises to be an excellent historic ecclesiastical series. An English Abbess and a French knight join forces to determine who killed a nun from Hawkenlye Abbey before the death tarnishes the coronation of Richard as king. Nicely plotted, interesting characters and some very plausible plot twists add up to a very good mystery.


Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 1)
Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 1)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 647
Review Date: 10/24/2007
Helpful Score: 18


I'm going to review the first four books of this series as a "set" since they contain a world story arc that carries through them and most readers will prefer to have all four on hand before starting the series. This is the first book in the Riley Jenson Guardian series, which are paranormal romances set in Melbourne, Australia. Arthur does an excellent job of balancing the paranormal and the romance elements of the story and, while the moon cycle sexual responses of the werewolves echo a bit of LKH's "ardeur", Arthur pulls it off much more smoothly. The paranormal elements are well thought out with a few nice twists to standard mythos. Characters are well drawn, though a bit unbelievably perfect at times. Each book does have a standalone plot with a satisfying conclusion, but as I mentioned, there is a "world arc" that carries through all four books.


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 6/5/2007
Helpful Score: 7


The single best pregnancy book I had - humorous, truthful, blunt and exactly what I needed, when I needed it. 6 stars on a scale of 5.


Good Blood (Gideon Oliver, Bk 11)
Good Blood (Gideon Oliver, Bk 11)
Author: Aaron Elkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it! Nice to see Gideon back in action, especially in a setting as fantastic as Italy. Naturally a relaxing trip turns into the opportunity to examine a few bones and interact with the wealthy, eccentric and possibly deadly locals. Definitely a book that can stand alone, but much more fun if you start at the beginning of the series.


A Grave Denied (Kate Shugak, Bk 13)
A Grave Denied (Kate Shugak, Bk 13)
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 8/11/2007


A Jack of All Trades in the Park is found under a receding glacier by Kate's ward Johnny and his friends while on a school field trip. Not as good as the last couple from Stabenow as she spends a lot of time moving the character arcs forward at the expense of the plot, but still quite a good read.


Grave Peril (Dresden Files, Bk 3)
Grave Peril (Dresden Files, Bk 3)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 596
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 8


While I loved the new characters introduced, this series entry seemed a bit frantic and disjointed as if there was so much going on there wasn't enough time to cover it all in enough detail. Still a really fun read in a really fun series, though. :)


41 to 60 of 135 - Page: