Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Judy H. (Judyh) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 228 - Page:
Budding Prospects
Budding Prospects
Author: T. C. Boyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/19/2007


I loved this book -- it was like watching a train wreck. A couple of guys go out into the back country of California to try making a fortune by growing pot. Encounters with locals, law enforcement, each other and themselves are too bizarre.


Burning Road (Plague Tales, Bk 2)
Burning Road (Plague Tales, Bk 2)
Author: Ann Benson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/4/2007


This was the 2nd of the two books about the plague, with both a story line from the actual time of the plague in Europe and a story line from near future England/USA. I enjoyed both books very much. The characters were engaging and the story wound up in an interesting way.


Calculating God
Calculating God
Author: Robert J. Sawyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 2/10/2006


One of my all time favorite books. This is one I won't post, because I plan to read it many more times. I highly recommend it. One of Sawyer's best, and I haven't read a bad one by him.


Caleb's Story
Caleb's Story
Author: Patricia MacLachlan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/28/2009


This is a lovely story for the 9 to 12 year old group -- if they liked "Sarah, Plain and Tall", this is a really good follow on story. It's engaging and not too long, a little over 100 pgs. I like the format of short journal entries and then regular narrative.


The Call of Earth (Homecoming, Bk 2)
The Call of Earth (Homecoming, Bk 2)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 5/12/2006


Book 2 in the Homecoming series


The Callahan Touch (Callahan, Bk 6)
The Callahan Touch (Callahan, Bk 6)
Author: Spider Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I recommend reading the entire series. You'll never meet a more loveable group of characters in more improbable circumstances.


Callahan's Crosstime Saloon
Callahan's Crosstime Saloon
Author: Spider Robinson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/3/2008


Read the whole Callahan series! This is the first one, and is one of the best sci-fi books out there. Spider Robinson is a master storyteller, with unforgettable characters, intense story lines, lots of puns and humor.


Case Closed: The Real Scoop on Detective Work
Case Closed: The Real Scoop on Detective Work
Author: Milton Meltzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/5/2007


My son enjoyed this book about real detective work and how crimes are solved.


Cat's Eye
Cat's Eye
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/13/2007
Helpful Score: 4


It's classic margaret Atwood at her best -- the story of a woman in her fifties coming to terms with being a woman, an artist, a wife, and a friend. It bounces back and forth between the story of her relationships with her childhood friends and her brother, and her later life as a grown woman with a husband and children of her own. Atwood as usual can really get into a woman's head.


Chez Moi
Chez Moi
Author: Agnes Desarthe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book is definitely written in a style some folks would not appreciate. There's not a great deal of action, only a handful of characters, and the story unfolds somewhat by stream of consciousness from the inner thoughts of Myriam. She is a very unusual character, and yet not so entirely unlike the rest of us. Some things in her life went well, some went very very badly. Some expectations she had were never fulfilled. At the beginning of the story she is emotionally and socially crippled, I would say, but she is at a point where she has finally decided to take some actions and create a new life for herself by opening a restaurant. It all unfolds from there. She meets people, she creates amazing meals, and surprises herself by making friends and becoming part of a community. She is still haunted by past mistakes and still emotionally immature, but this is a story of movement -- the movement through life and the twists and turns it can take, and how even someone as sad and damaged as Myriam can start over, pick up the pieces, and find some peace. I found it to be a sad story, and yet hopeful...


Chindi (Engines of God, Bk 3)
Chindi (Engines of God, Bk 3)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 4/26/2009


This is one of the best stories about the search for and possibility of extra-terrestrial life. Humans get a signal from a distant star, and the almost extinguished hope of finding life out there is re-kindled with a passion. The question is what does the message say? And what should be done about it? Great sci-fi, as I expect from Jack McDevitt.


Chronospace
Chronospace
Author: Allen Steele
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/10/2006


Allen Steele is always great reading. Suspenseful hard sci-fi!


The Collapsing Empire
The Collapsing Empire
Author: John Scalzi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/16/2023


This first of a trilogy is an example of great world-building. The physical characteristics of the Flow, the Interdependency of worlds, and the office of the Emperox (essentially the grand leader) are excellent and make for a compelling read. Scalzi sets up an impending collapse of interconnectivity of the empire, and I'm fascinated to see how it goes. I especially appreciated the strong women in the story. I already have the next book and will start it right away. 2018 Hugo Award Best Novel finalist and 2018 Locus Award winner.


The Collector
The Collector
Author: John Fowles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/12/2006


A haunting story that stuck with me for longer than most do.


The Concise Jewish Bible
The Concise Jewish Bible
Author: Philip Birnbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/8/2014


Philip Birnbaum has created a translation of the Hebrew Bible that is easy to read and understand. The meanings of the tex come through in modern English rather than in the difficult translations that abound. It is a very good resource for anyone who wants to read the Hebrew Bible in a clear yet scholarly translation.


Consequences (Retrieval Artist, Bk 3)
Consequences (Retrieval Artist, Bk 3)
Author: Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/12/2006


3rd in the Retrieval Artist series.


The Consuming Fire (Interdependency)
The Consuming Fire (Interdependency)
Author: John Scalzi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/16/2023


This book was so satisfying, so very Scalzi, and has both an interesting and diverse set of characters and a complex plot line. Scalzi is such a great storyteller. As usual his dialogue is truly fun to read. Keep going to book 3!


Cordelia's Honor (Cordelia Naismith, Bks 1 and 2)
Cordelia's Honor (Cordelia Naismith, Bks 1 and 2)
Author: Lois McMaster Bujold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is the beginning of the Barrayar series of books about Miles Vorkosigan. We devoured each one and couldn't wait to get the next. Very likeable and compelling characters and a fully developed society and universe. Romping space opera, drama, and enough science to keep it interesting. One of our favorite series of all time.


Coyote Rising (Coyote, Bk 2)
Coyote Rising (Coyote, Bk 2)
Author: Allen Steele
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/16/2009


Unlike many sequels, this is a great story and well worth reading.


Critical Jewish issues: A book for teenagers
Critical Jewish issues: A book for teenagers
Author: Ronald H Isaacs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/1/2013


This book is well-written and covers some of the basic ideas of Judaism, a Jew's relationship with God and with other people, Jewish ethics, and more.


21 to 40 of 228 - Page: