Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Marianne S. (sfc95) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 687 - Page:
And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
Author: Tasha Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 8/3/2010


This is a somewhat dry attempt at historical fiction, it does not have the level of intrigue and thrills that a Philippa Gregory novel, but it was short and had a limited story line that kep tyou somewhat interested.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 824
Review Date: 2/10/2011


This is by far the best book I have read this year. It is the Friday Night Knitting club, but better and I rated that book 5 stars! I feel like I know these women, want what they have in the friendships with each other, but at the same time am thrilled that they were so real. They had hardships, their lives were not perfect but the relationships felt so real. I cannot recommend this book enough. I feel like I will be thinking about these characters for a long time to come.


Antiques Knock-Off (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 5)
Antiques Knock-Off (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 5)
Author: Barbara Allan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Having not read those before this in the series, I thought that I may be behind, but I was brought up to speed quickly in this fast paced, comical mystery. It reminded me a great deal of the Spillman Files series by Lisa Lutz, a series that I love. The parenthesis act like footnotes of the character writing the story and mostly are added for a little humorous tidbit. I enjoyed the characters and felt like I knew them and imgaine if I would have read the books in order I would have known them even better. I will be going back to catch up. A cute, nice read.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 10/17/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoyed this book, however it is nowhere near the book that Water for Elephants is. This book has too much going on, it starts out so slow and then ramps up at the end. It is difficult to keep abreast of all of the subplots (ones that we could certainly do without)and it makes the reading more like running in circles. As for endings, this one has a beautiful little bow at the end. I am not always happy with that kind of ending and in this case it seemed inappropriate.


The Arrivals
The Arrivals
Author: Meg Mitchell Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/27/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. When I closed the book after the last page I felt like I lost my family, my new friends. The way this is written in my opinion is so raw and so truthful that you feel like it is happening to you. It has humorous moments, but really it makes you feel better about the chaotic life you lead and makes you feel normal for a while. I am not sure how I discovered this book, I have never read anything by the author, I normally read thrillers and mysteries but I am glad this found its way to my bookshelf.


An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England
An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England
Author: Brock Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/12/2009


I could not find this book humorous or entertaining. It was an inresting story but the manner in which it was written was very confusing and it rambled. I am not usually intersted in book of this nature, so my review could be based more on that than the book itself. Certainly an interesting topic with a rather good ending but alot of incoherent language in between.


The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 8/11/2009


I have mixed feelings regarding this book. On one hand it was interesting, gave a "regular guy" aspect to a rather famous person (certainly very famous now!) although at the time of writing he was minimally famous! It was a good picture of a family man doing regular things that we all do, however other parts were egotistical, the sunday school lessons in later chapters I found pretentious as if to say his upbringing in the religious world was the best and most appropriate giving him worldly views that others could not have. As well his discussions of race were somewhat overpowering and I felt drew away from the everyday guy feel of the book. I am glad I listened to it, I was interested in the book, I felt that it would have been better suited to have a more politically viewed book and then one that allowed the reader to discover the ragular guy Obama. But as it is, I read it, I would suggest you read it if you are interested in finding out more about our president, but understand that the views are very Democratic in some areas and could cause you to be unhappy with the book.


B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/19/2011


I liked this one in the series more than the first. It had some good thrills, filled with great characters and was a quick read I finished in one day, can't wait to read more in the series.


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 981
Review Date: 10/4/2009


This was another good book from Giffin, it took me a long time to read, i am not sure why as I read fast and it seemed to be a fast paced book..who knows! In any case the ending was somewhat foreseen, but still great!


A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


To me this book is tired. The subject was not unique and overall the book itself was not interesting. To me the author was trying to create a Stephanie PLum from Janet Evanovich's series, but failed miserably. Well at least this is a series I need not read.


Be Careful What You Wish For (Clifton Chronicles, Bk 4)
Be Careful What You Wish For (Clifton Chronicles, Bk 4)
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/9/2015


I am so thankful that I have the next installment sitting beside me. I would not have been able to handle the wait!!! This one ends with such a cliff hanger. I am going to miss this group of people tremendously when this sage ends. They are my friends, people I have grown to care for. The style of writing is flawless. 400+ page books fly by as it feels that you are watching a quick movie while you read about their lives. I am a huge fan of Jeffrey Archer. Start this series from the beginning and fall in love!


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 765
Review Date: 12/26/2008


This is a good book. A very fast read like most of his others. The end is somewhat far-fetched, but it is fiction!


Before We Met: A Novel
Before We Met: A Novel
Author: Lucie Whitehouse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/29/2015


This book had great potential. But for me it never gave me a chance to care about the characters, to learn about then or be invested in the story. It practically opens with the climax and then to me falls flat in creating a tale that is interesting. I gave up about half way through, I just really didn't care to find out the outcome if it meant reading more boring prose.


Belonging: New Poetry by Iranians Around the World
Belonging: New Poetry by Iranians Around the World
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/19/2009


Not a huge poetry lover, read it for a library reading program. Not impressed. Maybe if I cared more for poetry, but for me it just was not worth the time


Best Kept Secret (Clifton Chronicles, Bk 3)
Best Kept Secret (Clifton Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/22/2015


Another great one that ends with a cliff hanger and now I have to wait because I don't have the next book yet!!! The family saga continues, character re-emerge regularly and each one is developed more when you thought there was nothing left to learn about them. Can't wait to get the next one!


Best Laid Plans (Lucy Kincaid, Bk 9)
Best Laid Plans (Lucy Kincaid, Bk 9)
Author: Allison Brennan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/12/2016


Another great addition to the series. A little far fetched (as they all are) but a keeps you guessing thriller that makes you look forward to the next one!


Betrayal
Betrayal
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 7/30/2011
Helpful Score: 7


After only 3.5 hours and two bathroom breaks I read the best book of 2011. This book is so emotionally charged! The realism in how quickly a life can be shattered. As a voracious reader, I rarely find a book that I read so fast with my heart pumping so fast to find out what happens next. I felt like everything depicted was happening to me. this is an excellent must read, but be sure to have a few hours to devote to the book and the book only because it is too thrilling to stop.


The Betrayal (Abram's Daughters, Bk 2)
The Betrayal (Abram's Daughters, Bk 2)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 11/17/2008


This series is wonderful. I have a specific vision of each of the characters and feel that I could run into them if I was visiting Amish country in PA. I cannot wait to read the next books in the series.


Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 20)
Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 20)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 8/18/2013


This is the first JP Beaumont book (nothing liking starting in the middle) I hate to go back and read the others if they build on each other, but I think I will give it a try since this one was great. Lots of thrills, I have read the Joanna Brady series and this one was a lot like those.


Between Walden and the Whirlwind: Living the Christ-Centered Life
Review Date: 1/21/2010


Ick! This is slow moving, constantly repetitive and BORING!!!!! There has to be more relevant material out there. This is so dated it is completely worthless. Stay away and find some newer version of getting in touch with God.


21 to 40 of 687 - Page: