Skip to main content
PBS logo

Book Review of An Ice Cold Grave (Harper Connelly, Bk 3)

An Ice Cold Grave (Harper Connelly, Bk 3)
stormchaserblue avatar reviewed on + 43 more book reviews

An Ice Cold Grave
This is the third book in the Harper Connelly series by Charlaine Harris. Harris is also the author of the Sookie Stackhouse series.
In An Ice Cold Grave Harper is hired to find a boy missing in Doraville, North Carolina. What Harper finds are eight bodies, victims of a serial killer. With the body found, Harper and Tolliver would like nothing better that to get out of town; they are not publicity seekers. Events conspire to keep them around, Harper is attacked, and Harper finds herself involved in the search for the killer.
This book in the series is refreshing in that there isn't the hostility to her talent normally encountered. Law enforcement is skeptical at first but come to recognize the reality. Even the pastor sees that she uses her ability for good and assumes that it is a God given talent.
The flamboyant psychic Xylda Bernardo, along with her grandson Manfred makes another appearance. She contributes a rather poignant moment to the story. There are actually a number of poignant events in this story including the resolution of one of the major plot threads.
The relationship between Harper and Tolliver also takes a step forward. If you haven't read the previous books - Grave Sight and Grave Surprise - I recommend you start with the first. Previous characters and events are referenced and you won't understand the background of a major event that occurs in this book.