Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Search - Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life

Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life
Bad Dogs Have More Fun Selected Writings on Animals Family and Life
Author: John Grogan
Bad Dogs Have More Fun is an unforgettable collection of more than seventy-five newspaper articles from The Philadelphia Inquirer written by former columnist John Grogan. Combining humor, wit, poignancy, and affection, these columns provide insight into the intriguing and wonderful world we live in. Whether it be writing about ani...  more »
Info icon
ISBN-13: 9781593154905
ISBN-10: 1593154909
Publication Date: 10/14/2008
Pages: 256
Rating:
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 18

3.4 stars, based on 18 ratings
Publisher: Vanguard Press
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

esjro avatar reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 898 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
This book is clearly intended to appeal to fans of Marley and Me (aka every literate person in America who has ever owned a dog), but those expecting more of the same may be disappointed. The "animals" section is brief, though it does contain an enjoyable essay about how the author's life changes after Marley and Me became a best seller. Most of the book is short essays on news happenings, people (mostly old or sick), or rants on smoking, smoking bans, (?) and littering.
As another PBS reviewer said, this is a waiting room read. I can see how Grogan's column would be enjoyable as a periodic newspaper feature, but as a collection I don't think the essays hold up as well.
The other strange thing is that the book clearly states that John Grogan had nothing to do with the publication. Although they are giving some of the proceeds to charity, the whole thing just smacks of someone else trying to profit from Grogan's success.
Jillibeanz72 avatar reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
Although it is no Marley, this was a very entertaining and quick read. Perfect for waiting rooms and commutes.
ilovebooksanddogs avatar reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 355 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This was a very enjoyable read, I bought it thinking it was more about dogs but it is a collection of his writings from his newspaper column. The book touches on many subjects and made me think about some of them in a different light.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I loved Marley and me and was a little dissapointed with this book. It had some cute stories, but was no where near as good as Marley and Me.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on
Helpful Score: 1
Easy quick read, very enjoyable book from Grogan.Views on many subjects and interesting people
Read All 13 Book Reviews of "Bad Dogs Have More Fun Selected Writings on Animals Family and Life"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 2 more book reviews
Excellent author and delightful book.
daskvorc avatar reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 20 more book reviews
A must read! Grogan excels, wonderful read!
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 8 more book reviews
I read this after reading Marley. It wasn't what I expected, but a good read nonetheless.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life on + 169 more book reviews
This is a fun, quick read. However, the title is misleading. There is only one or two stories about John Grogan's dog. The book is a collection of John Grogan's columns and they are all entertaining.


Genres: