Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Jeannie H. (ilovebooksanddogs) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 356 - Page:
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
Author: Chris Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/18/2023


Loved this book, loved this author. Need I say more? Well...yes and here goes:

Chris is a columnist for a paper in New Orleans and writes from his heart about what has happened to his beloved city New Orleans. Who among us can say "New Orleans" and not have a thrill race up our spine? even IF we've never been there, we've always wanted to go there. There is an aura in the South that cannot be replicated anywhere else, the air not only smells different but it feels different. New Orleans is a city full of history, our history and it seems to have been forgotten. Those who call New Orleans home are fighting an uphill battle to restore what they had and loved.

I'd always planned to visit there, to experience Fat Tuesday, Mardi Gras, I've dreamed of walking along the Old Miss, seeing the oak trees hung with Spanish Moss, this was the stuff of dreams for me who grew up reading the novels of southern writers. Now, knowing it's not the same New Orleans,and never will be again makes me very sad. I not only feel but I know I've lost out on a special place in our world. Imagine how those who call this area home feel. That is what this book will give you, the pain, the horror, the sorrow, the denial, the acceptance and the strength that those who remain have within them. Chris writes of all this and allows us into this special place called "New Orleans".

This book isn't as much about a hurricane, one of the worst in the history of the U.S. as it is about mankind and how they re-act and adapt to changes in their lives. I highly recommend reading this one. This book and Chris himself touched my heart.


100 Best Spas of the World
100 Best Spas of the World
Author: Bernard-I Burt, Pamela-J Lechtman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/19/2023


Rating this low since this book is outdated (published in 2001). But the photos of the spas and descriptions were excellent at the time of publication. I enjoyed dreaming of a day at one of these spas while reading it.


1000 Extra, Ordinary Objects
1000 Extra, Ordinary Objects
Author: Karen Gerhards
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/3/2010


Very interesting look at many things I never even knew existed. Book is full of full cover photos.


The 20th Century Children's Poetry Treasury (Treasured Gifts for the Holidays)
Review Date: 4/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great poetry book not just for kids but adults as well.


4000 Days: My Life and Survival in a Bangkok Prison
4000 Days: My Life and Survival in a Bangkok Prison
Author: Warren Fellows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a tough read, it was horrifying to read of the conditions he endured while in this hell-hole of a prison. No crime deserves a punishment like this!


The Absolutely Worst Places to Live in America
The Absolutely Worst Places to Live in America
Author: Dave Gilmartin, Dave Gilmartin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/19/2023


I enjoyed each and every page of this book. I thought it was spot on with most of the worst places to live. Hilarious and sarcastic, it's a great book to waste your time on.


All My Life for Sale
All My Life for Sale
Author: John Freyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/18/2023


I wouldn't even give this a star if I didn't have to. BORING..and STUPID. I tried so hard to get the concept that this guy is an artist and this was an artistic book but really it was just stupid, he had stupid junky stuff he sold on ebay that other stupid people paid money for, I mean come on, why anyone would bid on an opened container of food, actually want it and then display it in their home when they did get it is way beyond stupidity. I'm just amazed. This so called book is just a waste of time. I pity the poor trees wasted in the printing of it.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 6/8/2023


I love this authors style of writing. It felt as if we were just sitting down and chatting while I was reading this book.
I've been a long time subscriber to Southern Living and he always writes a one page story at the end of every issue that I've always enjoyed hugely. I didn't realize he had written books until I googled him and found quite a few. I can't wait to read more of anything he's written. I'm a huge fan!


All the Rules: Time-tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right
All the Rules: Time-tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right
Author: Ellen Fein, Sherrie Schneider
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Okay...not sure I believe any of this bullshit...but I do know someone who follows this religiously and believes in it and it seems to be working for her. I just can't be myself or act a different way to " catch a husband". Not for me and this book seems outdated for the times. This is 2011 by the way so this book is way behind the times. I had to shake my head at most of the advice in this book. My advice is not to waste your time on this one.


All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House
All the Way Home: Building a Family in a Falling-Down House
Author: David Giffels
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/5/2021


Inspiring, insightful and often downright hilarious, this author has a way with words. I enjoyed his journey through restoring this monster of a house that they fell in love with (he made me fall in love with it too) and making his family whole. I couldn't put it down.


Ambulance Girl: How I Saved Myself by Becoming an EMT
Ambulance Girl: How I Saved Myself by Becoming an EMT
Author: Jane Stern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 12/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was hilarious, I found myself stuffing my bedsheet in my mouth more than once at 3am so I didn't wake my husband up. I learned a lot about the life of an EMT. this was a quick read, her writing style flowed so nicely and I never once lost interest.


American Dirt
American Dirt
Author: Jeanine Cummins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/8/2023


Wow! what a hard hitting book. Everyone should read this book regardless of how you feel about immigration, it just might make you see migrants in a different light. Absolutely stunning account of what they go through. Lydia and Luca's journey really touched my heart, not going to be easy to forget this book.


An Air That Kills: How the Asbestos Poisoning of Libby, Montana Uncovered a National Scandal
Review Date: 8/17/2023


Terribly frightening story of how our government covered up the dangers of asbestos and still is to this day! It's all political and at the expense of innocent people, people just doing a job and trying to support their families who were lied to by the companies they worked for and the agencies who were supposed to protect them. We are still seeing the effects today with the 911 responders who are dying due to the products containing asbestos that are still sold to this very day! I am mindblown to find this out....I never knew...I like so many others thought asbestos was banned but guess again...it is NOT! Brake pads still contain it and even more frightening is that the very crayons our children and grandchildren use are contaminated by asbestos and our government does not care! it's shameful and I am angry. EVERYONE should read this book and research the facts...you will be as angry and sad as I am! this is a large book but I couldn't put it down, I read it in a day.


And Never Let Her Go - Thomas Capano: The Deadly Seducer
And Never Let Her Go - Thomas Capano: The Deadly Seducer
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 3/23/2008


I LOVE Ann Rule!! Her books always hold me enthralled and this one is no exception. I like that there is always one main story then at the end there are short versions of other cases.


Angels in Disguise
Angels in Disguise
Author: Lou Dean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/19/2023


A beautiful read...it took me back to my childhood. was sweetly written from the heart. I just cannot even describe the way this book made me feel. a very quick read...and well worth your time.


Apocalypse 2012: A Scientific investigation into Civilizations's End
Review Date: 10/17/2009


This guy did his research, he explores every known scientific fact, myth and religious belief about predictions on the year 2012. Some of it was a bit too scientific for me (yet fascinating). I can't say I was ever bored with this book. He includes his own opinion on it all and sometimes quite heatedly. Quite a lot of humor thrown in amongst it all. Interesting subject and interesting book.


Are We Almost There
Are We Almost There
Author: Valerie Levy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2008


This book is full of puzzles and games for kids to play while riding in the car. License plate rummy, botticelli, 20 questions, sing-off are just some of the games. My grandkids actually found it fun!


Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 5/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I had never heard of this author until getting this book but that sure didn't stop me! I loved her crazy humor, almost like she was doing stand up comedy straight from the pages. no holds barred LOL craziness, from midgets to her father (or bitch tits as she likes to call him) no one is safe from her tongue. Fast, easy and quite enjoyable read!


Astrology Through a Psychic's Eyes
Astrology Through a Psychic's Eyes
Author: Sylvia Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/12/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I think this woman is just way too full of herself. I love astrology and love most of the authors but she just grated on my nerves the entire time I was reading through this (which by the way didn't take long since this is a very small book.)
Some parts I felt like I was reading gibberish, it made no sense at all, none of it fit anyone I knew! She came across as a pompous know-it-all. A waste of my time and probably yours if you are unlucky enough to have this book on your TBR list.
AND if I could of given this a half-star rating well...that would of been too much for it too!


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 8/18/2023


This author is beginning to irritate me, I don't know why, maybe it's that I read two of her books back to back. I do know I don't care much for her sense of humor.


1 to 20 of 356 - Page: