Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Robert L. (bobinprovincetown) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Bad Love (Alex Delaware, Bk 8)
Bad Love (Alex Delaware, Bk 8)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 9/15/2023


Worth reading. An intricate tale, twists and turns and a plot that is Jonathan Keller's trademark. My issue with this, otherwise it's five stars, is that by the end of the book, so many characters have been introduced it's hard to keep track of who the main characters are talking about. I see this more and more with authors who get deeper into their projects and go all Robert Ludlum on us and aim for complex plots with gobs of characters.


The Cuban Affair: A Novel
The Cuban Affair: A Novel
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/22/2019


I've like all the DeMille books I've read...until this one. I wanted to put it down several times. I found the story to have a fatal flaw. It's boring. This story lacks any complexity in the plot. It's very linear with too little action. I was always wondering, Is anything exciting going to happen? The ending is okay, but it's all narrative, no dialogue, and written more like a memoir. I will read another DeMille book sometime but he sure better up his game from this poor effort.


The Day of the Jackal
The Day of the Jackal
Author: Frederick Forsyth
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/22/2018


After all these years, this is still a terrific read (the ORIGINAL movie is really good too). Highly recommended.


The Escape (John Puller, Bk 3)
The Escape (John Puller, Bk 3)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 5/31/2019


This is a long story, which is fine with me. It's a good read, has well-defined characters who are believable, mostly, well, sort of, and a pretty decent plot. The writing is a little bit off. This story is not as well crafted as some of Baldacci's earlier works. I mean, "Her shoulder length hair fell freely to her shoulders." Really?


Flash
Flash
Author: Tim Tigner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/30/2021


someone gave this three stars. I'll give it four (not many get five). Actually, I loved the story, loved the two main characters, and thought all in all it's a very good read. I will order more Tim Tigner books.


Games of State (Tom Clancy's Op-Center, #3)
Games of State (Tom Clancy's Op-Center, #3)
Author: Tom Clancy, Steve Pieczenik
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 7/18/2023


I got 80% of the way slogging through this book and wondered, am I really going to finish this? It'w flawed to be sure. Lots of characters to follow; the build up of suspense wasn't particularly trenchant; and this romantic angle was thrown in that I found not only bizarre but detracted from the story - and it kept coming back! The climax, however (and no pun intended) was quite good. Not first rate, but engrossing enough. Three stars should just about do it.


Haunted (Michael Bennett, Bk 10)
Haunted (Michael Bennett, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, James O. Born
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/29/2022


Three stars. Not my usual rating for this line of Michael Bennett stories. First - it's very brief. At just 316 pages, each page contains maybe half the words of a Tom Clancy novel. Almost every other page is a break for a new chapter, which is annoying. Second - it very linear. No twists, turns, surprises. A to B. Third - I don't think it's all that well written. Some of the family time dialogue seems shallow, almost treacly. It's not a bad story, however. It does have some interest and my recommendation is, it's just okay.


The Heist (Gabriel Allon, Bk 14)
The Heist (Gabriel Allon, Bk 14)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 12/13/2023


One or Daniel Silva's best. This taut, gripping tale is a great read, and the ending will leave you in tears.


Juror #3
Juror #3
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/12/2022


less polished and less compelling than the usual James Patterson book


Noble Beginnings (Jack Noble, Bk 1)
Noble Beginnings (Jack Noble, Bk 1)
Author: L. T. Ryan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/26/2019


Read at your own risk.
Shock #1 - I opened this over-sized softcover to discover only 246 pages of story text, many white pages, a large font, and only 30 line per page. In other words, this is by far the fewest words of any thriller I've ever read. It went by very quickly.

Shock #1 - I didn't think the writing was all that good. The opening line, which writers, of which I am one, call "the hook." "I leaned back against a weathered stone wall." Wow. The tension! Makes me want to read on. So many times in this story I'm thinking, I can write better than that.

Shock #3 - To my great surprise, about 20 pages in or so, I actually became invested in the story. It became interested enough for me to read it to the end. No, the protagonist, Noble, is no Jack Reacher or Scott Horvath. But he's fleshed out just enough to be a character you want to read more about.

This is a two-star book in my opinion. I think there are far better and certainly more numerous options out there for political / military thrillers.


Pursuit of Honor (Mitch Rapp, Bk 11)
Pursuit of Honor (Mitch Rapp, Bk 11)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 6/28/2018


This franchise is getting a bit tired. Although an interesting story, the writing does not rise to the level of polish of some of the earlier works. It wasnt as captivating as the earlier stories. Again, not a bad read, but a bit of a let down.


The Runaway Jury
The Runaway Jury
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/26/2014


So far, this is one of my favorite Grisham novels. It's engrossing, a page-turner, realistic, and of course it's well-written


Sycamore Row (Jake Brigance, Bk 2)
Sycamore Row (Jake Brigance, Bk 2)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 3/30/2021


I don't usually review books, but this is one of Grisham's best. It gets its claws into you and doesn't let go. The ending is emotional, and you are part of it. A powerful story.


Tom Clancy Duty and Honor (A Jack Ryan Jr. Novel)
Tom Clancy Duty and Honor (A Jack Ryan Jr. Novel)
Author: Grant Blackwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/8/2018


As a story-teller, Grant Blackwood isn't bad at all. He's not Tom Clancy and there were times when I'd nitpick his technical writing. Lot of "stage directions" which I found unnecessary. He could have cut 5% of the writing out of this book easily. This book runs slightly over four hundred pages and the type-set is such that instead of Clancy's dense printed pages, there aren't that many words per page here. So heads up: this is a much quicker read than some of Clancy's intense tomes.

Still, I enjoyed the story. It's a good read. Just don't expect Clancy.


Tom Clancy Zero Hour (A Jack Ryan Jr. Novel)
Tom Clancy Zero Hour (A Jack Ryan Jr. Novel)
Author: Don Bentley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/2/2024


Three and a half stars. Not the same caliber as the original Tom Clancy novels, this story ramps up the deeper you get into the story line. I'm almost at the end and the tension keeps building. The character development is adequate, the sense of where you are and understanding what's going on are good, and the verb usage is quite strong. The plot is interesting and better yet, it's believable. I mean, almost any shit can happen in that utterly weird place we call North Korea, especially when the Russians are involved. I recommend this.


1 to 15 of 15