Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Sarah L. (soelo) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Book of Lost Things
The Book of Lost Things
Author: John Connolly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 11/8/2012


This was a very gory book.


Corsets and Clockwork: 13 Steampunk Romances
Corsets and Clockwork: 13 Steampunk Romances
Author: Trisha Telep (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/15/2019


I just finished Wild Magic by Ann Aguirre this morning and I loved it!


Cuban Heels
Cuban Heels
Author: Emily Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/24/2009


This book is also known as Cuba. This is a great book that takes a few unexpected turns. In comparing this to Barr' other books that I have read, I'd say it is better than Solo (aka Atlantic Shift), about as good as Baggage, but not quite as good as Backpack.

It does take them a while to get to Cuba in the book, but I really liked the descriptions of Havana once they were there.


The Cursed Heir
The Cursed Heir
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/27/2018


This book has been cancelled according to Morgan's Tumblr: http://morganrhodes.tumblr.com/post/174053518407/the-fate-of-spirits-thieves-3


A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
Author: Deborah Harkness
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 11/4/2019


This a great book to read in the fall. The settings of Oxford, France, and upstate New York are very autumnal. The mythology is interesting enough without being too complex. Diana and Matthew are compelling as main characters and the supporting cast is emphatic and stubborn.


Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 3/3/2021


What a great story, even in the slow or sad parts! There is plenty of action and dialogue but also some very detailed prose. I find it easier to listen to longer books and this was no exception. The metaphor near the end about the responsibility we feel when sending others to a place with unknown dangers gathers the whole narrative together.


Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd
Review Date: 11/9/2011


Some of these stories are pretty good and some are, well, too long. Like many short story collections, many of them take too long to lay out the characters and setting and not enough time on the plot. I Never, Quiz Bowl, Everyone But You and The Stars at the Finish Line are my favorites.


The Golem's Eye (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 2)
The Golem's Eye (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 8/24/2012


It took me a little longer than usual to read this book, but in a good way. Amulet was good and interesting, but I think Golem's Eye was a little better. I enjoyed the three different points of view and the story of Kitty's indoctrination. While the reader gets some satisfaction from the revenge that is applied to some characters, there is still plenty of the moral ambivalence that we saw in Amulet. A great adventure overall, and I can't want to read Ptolemy.


The Hanging Tree
The Hanging Tree
Author: Ben Aaronovitch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/25/2016


This is a great addition to Peter's story and the new characters are interesting and add to the intrigue. I was able to get a copy from Amazon's used section because this has been released in the UK but not the US yet. I tried to get it new from Amazon UK but the order was cancelled after shipping with no explanation.


My Book About Me (Classic Seuss)
My Book About Me (Classic Seuss)
Author: Dr. Seuss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/15/2019


"I hit someone, YES. I kicked someone, YES. I pulled hair, YES. I'm sorry I did it, NO!" This what my sister and I say whenever we see this book. The illustrations are so good. It is a perfect activity book for the kid who is always bored


The Night Circus
The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 2/23/2013


I loved this book, but it is hard to pinpoint why. The real world and the fantastic overlap in a believable way. The descriptions of the atmosphere of the circus were rich and detailed without getting tedious. The plot is not strictly linear, but it does follow a certain logic. Except for the antagonists, all of the characters are likeable or at least admirable without being Pollyannas.


The Oracle of Stamboul (P.S.)
The Oracle of Stamboul (P.S.)
Author: Michael David Lukas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/17/2012


As much as I loved this book, I kept waiting for the story to start. There are lots of detailed descriptions of Istanbul that bring the city alive.


Six-Gun Snow White
Six-Gun Snow White
Author: Catherynne M. Valente, Charlie Bowater (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/21/2020


It starts out as a coming of age story with fantastic elements and devolves a bit into episodic stories with nothing in common but the main character. To me, these are Alice in Wonderland rip offs and they bother me. The writing is nice but the plot suffers more as the story nears it's end. I have read one previous book by Valente - the first book in the Fairyland series. It had the exact same problem and I refuse to keep reading the series. I do however have 5-6 more of her books on my reading list, but I think if they all end up like this, I may not finish many more.


Spinning Silver
Spinning Silver
Author: Naomi Novik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/27/2020


This a caring story about family, both born and created, and a suspenseful story about a war between two supernatural beings. This a story of 3 clever women who make their own way in a society that does not value women for more than their ability to birth children and cook. There are themes of economics, Judaica, and politics. I've only read one previous book by Novik, Uprooted, which I also enjoyed.


Stardust (P.S.)
Stardust (P.S.)
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 9/15/2019


I got very frustrated with the beginning of the story, as it seemed to spend too much time on Tristran's origin. It got much better after that and then things came together even more in the end


Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography
Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography
Author: Rob Lowe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 8/30/2011
Helpful Score: 5


I found this book interesting even though I was only ever a casual fan of Lowe. He will start telling a story and then tell you who the famous person was at the end of the anecdote several times. I thought that might get tiresome, but it didn't. I was surprised to learn about his royal relationship and the way he talks about rehab and his family was really sweet. Lowe is hilarious in Parks & Rec and he explains how the comedic part of career came about after hosting Saturday Night Live.


Storybound
Storybound
Author: Marissa Burt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/25/2012


This is an interesting twist on the concept of fairy tales and stories in general. Things start a bit slow, but pick up to a normal pace in the middle of the book. The ending is quite a cliffhanger for the next book, Story's End.


Stuff: Compulsive Hoarding and the Meaning of Things
Stuff: Compulsive Hoarding and the Meaning of Things
Author: Gail Steketee, Randy Frost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/15/2019


This book helps you understand the difference between hoarders and people who just have too many things or don't keep up with housework (i.e. most of us.) It also explains the little they do know about the disorder and how much further they have to go to understand it. There is often, but not in all cases, overlap with OCD, isolating behaviors and/or high levels of creativity


Thick as Thieves (Queen's Thief, Bk 5)
Thick as Thieves (Queen's Thief, Bk 5)
Author: Megan Whalen Turner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/15/2019


Normally I do not like stories that take place on a journey because they devolve into a series of random encounters with kooky characters. Thick as Thieves did not devolve at all. The relationship between the two main characters evolved and enriched the story.


The Time Travelers (Gideon Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Time Travelers (Gideon Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Buckley-Archer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/8/2017


The first book in a wonderful series. If you like history and fantasy, this book is right up your alley. It is geared towards middle grade readers.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: