Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Diane M. (bookaholic) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 53 - Page:
All His Pretty Girls
All His Pretty Girls
Author: Charly Cox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/17/2024


It didn't take me long to get hooked on this book. It was very exciting and intense--a great read for those who loves a good crime thriller. It is the first book for this author and also the first book in a series. The book was well written with great characters and awesome storyline.


Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 7/24/2011


Linda Castillo's newest book in her Kate Burkholder series is a fast paced excellent read like the two previous ones in this series. I believe it is the best one yet. Great characters and so many twists and turns make this a very riveting read--a true page turner.


Cape Light (Cape Light, Bk 1)
Cape Light (Cape Light, Bk 1)
Author: Thomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/27/2008


This book was a joy to read. The citizens of this quaint little town are an interesting mix of different personalities and their story held my interest. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!


The Christmas Box (Christmas Box, Bk 1)
The Christmas Box (Christmas Box, Bk 1)
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 2/25/2006


A touching Christmas classic that you will love!


A Crime Of The Heart (Silhouette Special Edition, No 487)
A Crime Of The Heart (Silhouette Special Edition, No 487)
Author: Cheryl Reavis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/16/2020


This book absolutely deserves 5 stars! It is no wonder it won the RITA award for best romance 1989. (One of four that this author has won. She is that good.) It is a very emotional, heart wrenching story that will hook you right away. A must read for any romance booklover. Written long before the Amish romance genre burst into popularity, it tells the compelling story of an English girl and an Amish boy who grew up together as neighbors.Cheryl Reavis makes her characters come alive. You feel like you know them so well.You won't forget them. This one stays on my keeper shelf so that I can revisit the characters whenever I want. If you enjoy a captivating story this "oldie but goodie" is an example of how a truly gifted writer can mesmerize you with an spellbinding story. Read it---and it will truly touch your heart.


The Damage Done: A Louis Kincaid Thriller
The Damage Done: A Louis Kincaid Thriller
Author: Pj Parrish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/21/2019


This is another wonderful addition to the Louis Kincaid series by P J Parrish. Full of twists and turns and intertwining storylines, it makes a riveting and exciting solid read. It is best to start this series in order to get the full impact of this continuing story. The characters come alive especially Louis Kincaid. I hope the two sisters who write under this author's name will write more soon. They are a wonderful team! I have read everything they have written and they never disappoint.


Depraved (Faces of Evil, Bk 10)
Depraved (Faces of Evil, Bk 10)
Author: Debra Webb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/23/2020


This the tenth book in the Faces of Evil series by Debra Webb and also the final one in the continuing story of the hunt for serial killer Eric Spears. It was very exciting and action packed just like all the others. Did I say action packed? From the start of the first book OBSESSION to this final one covered only two months! Debra Webb characters are so realistic you feel you know them. A great ending to a great suspense series!


Deserts of the Heart (Sons of Earth and Wind, Bk 4)
Deserts of the Heart (Sons of Earth and Wind, Bk 4)
Author: Barbara Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/21/2006


This is Book IV of Barbara Clark's Sons of Earth and Wind Series.A good read---combining two of my favorite kinds of romances--sheik and paranormal all in one. Add lots of suspense and adventure and you have Faith and Kadar's exciting story. Fortunately each story in this series can stand alone and doesn't have to be read in order. I am now in search of her other romances.....


Don't Lie to Me (Eva Rae Thomas, Bk 1)
Don't Lie to Me (Eva Rae Thomas, Bk 1)
Author: Willow Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/17/2020
Helpful Score: 1


Wow! What an exciting and engrossing read for the first in the Eva Rae Thomas mystery series. I never saw the ending coming. I can't wait to read the other books in this series. I could not put this book down. A+++


Eat Cake
Eat Cake
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 4/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Every one of Jeanne Ray's books is a delight and this one is no exception! ......

EVER SINCE CHILDHOOD, RUTH HAS FOUND BAKING CAKES TO BE A SOURCE OF RELIEF FROM THE STRESSES OF LIFE. AND NOW----AS HER HUSBAND LOSES HIS JOB, HER LIFE-OF-THE-PARTY FATHER ARRIVES FOR AN EXTENDED STAY (MUCH TO THE DISMAY OF HER MOTHER, WHO ALSO MOVED IN RECENTLY), AND HER TEENAGE DAUGHTER PERFECTS THE ART OF SULKING---RUTH IS GOING TO NEED SOME SERENITY. BUT SHE ALSO NEEDS A PLAN. BECAUSE WITH FUNDS RUNNING LOW AND TEMPERS RUNNING SHORT, HER FAMILY REQUIRES MORE THAN THE PERFECT SWEET.
IT IS GOING TO BE UP TO RUTH TO SAVE THE DAY, AND LET THE CRUMBS FALL WHERE THEY MAY......

From the first page or two, you are hooked--- the characters are so real and their sometimes tender, sometimes humorous story is so interesting. An added plus are the recipes in the back of the book of all the cakes that Ruth made in this story.

In one word.... EAT CAKE is.......D E L E C T A B L E !!!


The Edge of Normal
The Edge of Normal
Author: Carla Norton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/26/2021


This was a very engrossing read---full of great characters, action and evil. Alot of these suspense books have the main character to be a policeman, detective or FBI but this one was different. This one was a victim who had been kidnapped and held hostage for four years who was sent to help another young girl who had experienced a similar scenario and excaped just recently. If you like reading about a strong heroine, a creepy villian and lots of action, you won't be disappointed and the ending will leave you breathless. A+++


The Everyday Life Bible: The Power of God's Word for Everyday Living
Review Date: 10/25/2012


I grew up with the KJV bible but I love to also read other Bibles.This book was on my wish list for a long time and I finally just bought it. I have her original amplified hardback version of this and knew that it was so helpful with all her insights, comments and information throughout it. It has really been a great help to understand in Joyce Meyer's down to earth easy to understand language. It is a study Bible that I have enjoyed and learned so much from. That said, this leather version is just beautiful with its original pewter hand tooled look leather cover. It is a wonderful addition to my keeper shelf.


An Evil Heart (Kate Burkholder, Bk 15)
An Evil Heart (Kate Burkholder, Bk 15)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/4/2023


I have enjoyed all the books in this series but I found this one to be especially a good one. The violence of the shocking crime on the first pages quickly captured my interest and held it all the way to the end. I also liked the fact that more of Kate"s personal life with Tomasetti was revealed along the way which was almost nonexistant in some of the books in the series. As with all of them, I devoured it as I quickly turned the pages. And also with all of them, I now have to wait till the next installment gets in my hands. Sheer torture!


Fallen (Kate Burkholder, Bk 13)
Fallen (Kate Burkholder, Bk 13)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/9/2021


This book is the 13th in the Kate Burkholder series and is another enjoyable read. I still love the main characters and the rest of the minor characters as well. And like all the other books in the series, the end comes too soon and I have to wait to see if there are any more to wait for.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven (Large Print)
The Five People You Meet in Heaven (Large Print)
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/27/2008


Wonderful book! I enjoyed it.


A Gathering of Secrets (Kate Burkholder, Bk 10)
A Gathering of Secrets (Kate Burkholder, Bk 10)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/30/2018


This series just keeps getting better and better. Every time I receive a copy of this series, I know that I have to read it as soon as possible. I love the main characters and the minor characters that work with her. This was no exception--a good mystery with lots of exciting moments. This one certainly didn't disappoint me at all. A great read!


Hannah's Journey (Amish Brides of Celery Fields, Bk 1) (Love Inspired Historical, No 88)
Review Date: 5/16/2013


I have read several Amish romances and this one is an excellent one and book one of a wonderful series. I have enjoyed the first three so far and looking forward to reading the fourth. The characters are so real and the stories are engrossing. Each has an original unique storyline which I appreciate.


The Housemaid (Housemaid, Bk 1)
The Housemaid (Housemaid, Bk 1)
Author: Freida McFadden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/25/2022
Helpful Score: 1


This is my first book I have read by Ms McFadden and was thoroughly intrigued by all the twists and turns which made for a really engrossing read. If you like a book that keeps you guessing, try this one. I don't think you will be diappointed.


The Last Letter
The Last Letter
Author: Rebecca Yarros
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/14/2020
Helpful Score: 1


Rebecca Yarros was a new author for me but she certainly didn't disappoint. After reading this book, I know she is a very gifted writer especially when she wrote this in just three weeks! A true to life romance--sometimes good things happen, sometimes bad things happen. The characters are well defined as you hear from both of them as the story progresses so you really get to know them and what makes them tick. I really could not put the book down for long. I read this 450 page book in less than 24 hours. I had to find out how the story ended. I believe it is one of the best romances I have read in a while. Warning: Keep a box of tissues handy. This original story is a real tearjecker but will also make you smile too.


A Little Christmas Spirit
A Little Christmas Spirit
Author: Sheila Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/7/2021
Helpful Score: 1


If you enjoy novels with a Christmas theme, you will want to check out this book, especially if you like a heartwarming story that will not only make you smile but also bring you tons of laughs too.
I found this holiday book to be the best I have read this season
and it is going on my keeper shelf to read again. A+++


1 to 20 of 53 - Page: