Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Susan G. (onstagegirl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 72 - Page:
2048: Humanity's Agreement to Live Together
2048: Humanity's Agreement to Live Together
Author: J. Kirk Boyd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/7/2023


Great idea to have an agreement with all of humanity to have certain inalienable rights. It all seems very impossible. How do we make this happen. Europe has done it. 2048 gives a road map to the next steps. Detailed. At times repetitive.


2666
2666
Author: Roberto Bolano, Natasha Wimmer (Translator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/9/2022


If you like lots of detail, this is your book.


America Anonymous: Eight Addicts in Search of a Life
America Anonymous: Eight Addicts in Search of a Life
Author: Benoit Denizet-Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/13/2023


Look at various types of addictions. Demonstrates the complexity of addiction and the similarities between addictive behaviors.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 12/10/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked the Da Vinci Code, so I thought another Dan Brown book with Robert Langdon was a must to read. Dan Brown does a fairly good job at weaving fiction in the historical setting of Rome and the Vatican. The whole story takes place in less than 24 hours. Science at odds with religion with the Illuminati at the center of the mystery. Robert Langdon portrays the Harvard symbologist with almost superhero powers. He manages to evade death time and time again. I do think jumping out of a helicopter without a parachute and using only a tarp to break the fall was a bit far fetched. A stimulating fun long book (almost 700 pages)which is perfect for a long plane ride.


Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
Review Date: 9/23/2022
Helpful Score: 1


If you are a gardener, you will enjoy this book. If you are a person trying to eat healthy, you will enjoy this book. If you are a person who wants to cut our ties to the petroleum industry, you will enjoy this book. Plus there are some awesome recipes for seasonal cooking included.


Animals Make Us Human: Creating the Best Life for Animals
Review Date: 7/5/2015


Every human should read this book. If you own any kind of animal, the insight that is given is invaluable.


Bel Canto (P.S.)
Bel Canto (P.S.)
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/13/2023


A less than suspenseful book with a predictable ending. Too narrow of focus for my liking, but did delve into the behaviors of hostages and rebels, and how their relationship within the human element evolved.


Biohazard
Biohazard
Author: Stephen Handelman, Ken Alibek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/13/2021


Mind blowing story of biological warfare. Lots of detail. Lots of names. Left me with lots of unanswered scary questions.


Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Born Standing Up: A Comic's Life
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 6/19/2009


An entertaining autobiography of Steve Martin's life with laughter and crying. Introspective of his life events and how those events effected his career as a stand up comic. Pictures included.


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Review Date: 8/6/2023


I was hesitant at first whether I would enjoy a novel about rowing, but it was fantastic.


Breakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness
Breakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness
Author: Suzanne Somers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/26/2010


Great information on breakthrough and preventative medicine.


Bright Shiny Morning
Bright Shiny Morning
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/5/2023


I really like this book! Writing is choppy but colorful. Captures the history of Los Angeles while weaving several stories that are believable. The harsh reality and the enchantment of what happens in LA.


Broken Open: How Difficult Times Can Help Us Grow
Broken Open: How Difficult Times Can Help Us Grow
Author: Elizabeth Lesser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


The stories are poignant examples of how bad experiences can broaden your personnal growth. The author is a bit too self absorbed about her own journey, and the intent of the book would have been better served with less impersonal stories. Overall, not a bad read if you are seeking a positive outcome from negative changes.


The Carrot Principle:  How the Best Managers Use Recognition to Engage Their Employees, Retain Talent, and Drive Performance
Review Date: 1/19/2009


The message is right-on. The ideas speak of great intentions for good hearted managers. However, the recommendation for spending a minimum of $1,000 per employee per year for recognition could apply to only Fortune 500 companies. However,There are many good ideas, much less costly, for employee recognition. Looking for ideas to motivate and recognize, The Carrot Principle can give you a plan. There are many stories of how to recognize and motivate to get the results you as a manager desire.


The Cheese Trap: How Breaking a Surprising Addiction Will Help You Lose Weight, Gain Energy, and Get Healthy
Review Date: 4/8/2023


After reading you might not want to eat cheese again. Strong evidence that cheese is a culprit with chronic inflammation. Plant based diet is the message. Convincing.


Cloud Atlas
Cloud Atlas
Author: David Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 11/6/2022


Not the book I thought it would be. Almost stopped reading after the first 50 pages...but my rule is to give a book 100 pages before I say no more. There is several stories in the book which have a thread between them. I was not a fan of the Adam Ewing story. The other stories were good and kept me reading.


The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race
Review Date: 7/12/2022


The story of CRISPR is riveting and eye-opening. The journey of Jennifer Doudna is multi-facetted. The ethical and moral dilemma of genetic engineering is well presented.


Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage
Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 7/5/2015


Getting married? Read this book. It is a great story but it also reflects on what marriage is and what it isn't.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 7/1/2011


One of the best books I have read in a very long time.


The Danger Within Us: America's Untested, Unregulated Medical Device Industry and One Man's Battle to Survive It
Review Date: 4/22/2022


The cold hard reality of our medical system. Profit over people. One man's story of his journey.


1 to 20 of 72 - Page: