Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Danielle (DaniLynn) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 885
Review Date: 4/5/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This book was really cute. I read it in one day, because I couldn't wait to see what would happen next!


Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 12


This was a cute fun book. It had just enough quirky characters to keep me laughing out loud and just enough twists and turns to keep it from being predictable. If you're looking for some deep gloomy supernatural fiction, then this isn't your book. If you're looking for a light read and enjoy vampire/demon stories, you'll probably like it. I actually enjoyed this book more than I expected.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1967
Review Date: 3/17/2006
Helpful Score: 14


This was an amazing book. You feel like you're there with this incredible child while he experiences all of these horrible things. I cried the entire time I read this book.


Cocktails for Three
Cocktails for Three
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 434
Review Date: 5/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A great bok about friendship, loyalty and secrets.


The Devil's Labyrinth
The Devil's Labyrinth
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 9


I'm a huge John Saul fan and have been for years. I've loved almost everything I've read by him. However, I am shocked that he actually wrote this book. It was so poorly written and awkward that it was almost painful to read at times. I felt as if I were reading something written by a high school student. It was predictable, full of stereotypes, and just plain boring.


Evernight (Evernight, Bk 1)
Evernight (Evernight, Bk 1)
Author: Claudia Gray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 11/5/2008
Helpful Score: 6


After completing the Twilight series, I never expected to read a book that I enjoyed as much as those, but I was pleasantly surprised with this one. I couldn't put it down and read it cover to cover in one sitting. I understand that Claudia Gray is a new author, but I will be looking out for her work in the future.

Full of suspenseful twists and turns. I usually guess the surprises in YA novels way before they come, but not with this one. I was completely blown away. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Paranormal fiction.


Family Tree
Family Tree
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 11


I chose to read this book despite reading several poor reviews, and ended up wishing I would have listed to the reviews. The idea behind the book was great, and at times it did have me pondering who I am and what makes me who I am. The ending was even pretty good, if a little predictable. However, I just couldn't like the characters. They didn't seem real and were not very believable. I kept finding myself asking "Who would really do that?"


Flight of a Witch (Inspector George Felse, Bk 3)
Flight of a Witch (Inspector George Felse, Bk 3)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Annet Beck's beauty is of the second order and it worries her parents so much that they guard her as closely as a prisoner...until the rainy Thursday in October when she disappears.
Annet is last seen vanishing over the crest of Hallomount, a hill in the remote Welsh Country believed to be the domain of witches. Five days later she mysteriously reappears, claiming that she was gone for only two hours.

Detective Inspector George Felse doesn't believe in witchcraft, but he does believe in love and he never underestimates its power, especially when it may have led to murder...


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 7/26/2007
Helpful Score: 10


If you're looking for a deep educational book to learn about pregnancy, then this probably isn't your book. But, there are tons of those books out there on the market. This book provides a unique outlook on pregnancy addressing topics and offering advice that you would normally only be able to get from a close girlfriend. I loved my serious pregnancy books, but this book provided a cute unique viewpoint.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2866
Review Date: 2/24/2006
Helpful Score: 19


I laughed, I cried. This was one of my favorite books ever. A great read for anyone who just doesn't love the way they look.


Gypsy Davey
Gypsy Davey
Author: Chris Lynch
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 6/17/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Davey's had to grow up fast in order to get away--away from his beautiful mother, who loves him, but doesn't know how to take care of him; away from his charismatic but reckless father, who loves him too, but can't commit to anyone, least of all his family; and away from the people who look at him strangely because he's not like them. The only constant in his life has been his sister, Joanne, who's fed him, protected him, and taken care of him ever since she was seven and he was two.

Now Jo, still a teenager, has a baby herself, and it's Davey's turn to take care of someone. Someday soon, he knows, he'll find his own somebody who'll love him, and he'll have his own babies and he'll love them like nobody ever loved babies before.

Gritty, gripping, unflinchingly honest, Gypsy Davey is the extraordinary story of a boy's ultimate triumph as he comes of age.


Life on the Color Line: The True Story of a White Boy Who Discovered He Was Black
Review Date: 3/31/2006
Helpful Score: 4


I had to read this book for a class, but it was one of the best books I've ever read.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2160
Review Date: 3/13/2006
Helpful Score: 6


I could not finish this book. If I thought that the whole thing was completely true, it might have been a little more tolerable. However, it just isn't well written enough for fiction.


The Narrows (Harry Bosch, Bk 10)
The Narrows (Harry Bosch, Bk 10)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 383
Review Date: 2/17/2006
Helpful Score: 6


If you've never read Connelly or if you've read Connelly, but not one of his Bosch books, this is a great one to start with. It sets the stage for many of his later books. When I read the back of one of Connelly's Bosch books, I never thought I would be interested, but a friend lent me a copy so I gave it a try. NOW I AM HOOKED! I think I've now read every book Connelly has ever written.


No Strings Attached
No Strings Attached
Author: Millie Criswell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/28/2006
Helpful Score: 5


My biggest problem with this book was the unnatural conversations. I understand that there is a need to set the background of the story in a book, but it was just strange to have it done in a conversation. I just don't think that two friends who have been best friends for over 20 years and living together for 6 years would have conversations about their live as if they just met a week ago. Another problem I had with this book was the way things just sort of fell predictably into place. It was a quick, easy, mindless read though.


On Becoming Baby Wise
On Becoming Baby Wise
Author: Robert Bucknam, Gary Ezzo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 2/18/2006
Helpful Score: 8


This is absolutely the worst parenting book I have ever read. Please, please, please do some research on this book and Ezzo before using any of these techniques. I have a degree in Psychology and truly believe that many of the techniques that Mr. Ezzo teaches in this book can be emotionally damaging to your child. The only worse book I have ever come across is Mr. Ezzo's second parenting book....


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2798
Review Date: 6/7/2007
Helpful Score: 27


This was my first Philippa Gregory book, but it definitely won't be my last. I'm not usually a historical fiction reader, but this book had me hooked. Fact and fiction were so thoroughily interwoven that it was often hard to tell the difference. After reading it, I was even prompted to learn a little more about Henry VIII and his reign.


Relic
Relic
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/17/2006
Helpful Score: 3


If you like Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child books, this was a good book. It's a bit unrealistic, but just what you'd expect from these guys.


Ritual of Proof
Ritual of Proof
Author: Dara Joy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 2/19/2006
Helpful Score: 7


If you ever get tired of those historical romances where women are expected to bend to the will of the man and the couple falls in love when she asserts herself, this is the book for you. This time, the book is set in a place where women rule and men are expected to be submissive.


Sea Otters: A Natural History and Guide
Sea Otters: A Natural History and Guide
Author: Roy Nickerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/1/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A great book of information about the life cycle and history of sea otters with more than 50 color photographs.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: