Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Krystle S. (krystle) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
33 Men: Inside the Miraculous Survival and Dramatic Rescue of the Chilean Miners
Review Date: 8/14/2021


Interesting read, but I wish it focused more on the below-ground vs. above ground action.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: Janice Hallett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/25/2022
Helpful Score: 1


Summary: We follow a group of amateur theater performers as they hold a cancer fundraiser and deal with a murder of one of their own. It is told through emails, messages, and police reports.

Overall: This epistolary novel builds little suspense.

Characters:3/10 I had a hard time keeping track of who was who. There was not any sort of physical descriptions. It may be handy to tab the cast of characters page if reading a physical copy.

Uniqueness: 8/10 I haven't read a crime book in the form before.

Plot: 5/10 I wondered how it would end, but getting there was painfully slow for around 80% of the book.

Concept: 8/10 I appreciated that we don't know who died until well into the book.

Absorbing: 2/10 I was tuning out the repetitive nature of the emails/headers.

Keeper/Re-Readability: 2/10

Enjoyment/Entertainment: 3/10 this was a great premise, but it wasn't for me.


Cause of Death: Forensic Files of a Medical Examiner
Cause of Death: Forensic Files of a Medical Examiner
Author: Stephen D. Cohle, Tobin T. Buhk
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/22/2021


I love medical and forensics books, but this one was hard to get through. Boring cases, and pompous writing!


Double Fudge Brownie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 18)
Double Fudge Brownie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 18)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/2/2021


Typical Joanne Fluke. I'm finding myself liking the recipes more than the actual book.


The Finders (Mace Reid K-9, Bk 1)
The Finders (Mace Reid K-9, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffrey B. Burton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/21/2021


Loved the characters, the mystery and of course the dogs.

4.5 stars rounded down. Only bad comment is it is hard to find a place to stop, always something happening! :)


Force of Nature (Aaron Falk, Bk 2)
Force of Nature (Aaron Falk, Bk 2)
Author: Jane Harper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/15/2021


Loved the back and forth, kept my interest!


Gangster Redemption: How America's Most Notorious Jewel Robber Got Rich, Got Caught, and Got His Life Back on Track
Review Date: 2/28/2021


Loved reading the crazy prison stories. Highly suggest the videos that go along with each chapter on Youtube. Larry is a wonderful storyteller, and I would love a sequel!


How Not to Die: Surprising Lessons on Living Longer, Safer, and Healthier from America's Favorite Medical Examiner
Review Date: 5/2/2021


I loved the TV show and would suggest watching it first to avoid spoilers. Common sense, not many new cases or information.


Let Me Whisper in Your Ear (KEY News, Bk 3)
Let Me Whisper in Your Ear (KEY News, Bk 3)
Author: Mary Jane Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 1/30/2021


Kept me guessing lots of sub plots.


The Maid
The Maid
Author: Nita Prose
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 1/25/2022


Read this if you like unique mysteries without a lot of gore.

Summary: Molly the Maid finds a dead businessman in a room she is supposed to be cleaning. Suspects abound in this unique mystery set in a hotel.

What I Liked:
1. Her unique job and characteristics. Even during lulls in the plot, I was genuinely interested in her and her life.

2. The layers of meaning behind clean vs. unclean and invisibility.

3. Twists and turns

What I didn't like:
1. Things felt a bit too neatly wrapped up at the end


Mirrorland
Mirrorland
Author: Carole Johnstone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/26/2021


2.5 stars rounded down. Great story, but difficult to plow through with the flashbacks. Also, much darker than expected.


My Sweet Girl
My Sweet Girl
Author: Amanda Jayatissa
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/25/2022
Helpful Score: 1


4.5 stars rounded down

Summary: Paloma rents out a room to an undocumented immigrant who she sees murdered. The body disappears, and she is forced to deal with secrets from her past.

Overall I loved this unique thriller. Read if you enjoy past/present narratives and big twists.

Cupcake Review:

Characters:9/10 I love Paloma, and her sense of humor. The minor characters like Ida also have a lot of depth.

Plot: 9/10: Lots of jaw-dropping twists. The author drops these major truth bombs SO casually.

Concept: 8/10 Great concept I just feel as though the summary was not really what the book was about.

Absorbing: 9/10 A very fast read.

Keeper/Re-Readability: 7/10 I want to re-read it with what I now know from the ending.

Enjoyment/Entertainment: 9.5/10


No One Knows
No One Knows
Author: J.T. Ellison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/11/2021


Disappointing and hard to get through.


NYPD Red 6 (NYPD Red, Bk 6)
NYPD Red 6 (NYPD Red, Bk 6)
Author: James Patterson, Marshall Karp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/28/2021


2.5 stars rounded down. Not as exciting or action-packed as his other books. Disappointing!


One by One
One by One
Author: Ruth Ware
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 8/30/2021
Helpful Score: 1


I've read and enjoyed most of Ware's other books. This was decent, but not my favorite. Slow to start/end, but the middle was edge of your seat exciting.


The Other Woman's House (aka Lasting Damage) (Culver Valley Crime, Bk 6)
Review Date: 11/28/2021


What I Liked:
1. Fascinating premise
2. Connie's Character: Her unique and complex family make her anything but cookie-cutter.
3. Great pacing: A real page turner

What I Didn't Like:
1. Character's Motivations: They made very little sense to me.
2. Police: Their names all ran together for me, and I didn't find them very interesting.
(For what it's worth, this is the 6th book in the series, but the first I've read.


Perfect Little Children: A Novel
Perfect Little Children: A Novel
Author: Sophie Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/14/2021


A unique pageturner. I didn't enjoy her Agatha Christie novels at all, but this was a really enjoyable read.


Please Don't Feed the Mayor
Please Don't Feed the Mayor
Author: Sue Pethick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/21/2021


Misleading blurb and full of cliches. Not my cup of tea!


Predator  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Predator (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 520
Review Date: 8/15/2021


I found this book confusing with too much going on.


Pretty Little Wife
Pretty Little Wife
Author: Darby Kane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/20/2021
Helpful Score: 1


Suspense tapers off early, and characters make very little sense. I also found it extremely far-fetched.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: