Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Lora H. (Louise) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Become a Vegetarian in Five Easy Steps!
Become a Vegetarian in Five Easy Steps!
Author: Christine H. Beard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2006


Easy to read and follow. Useful information.


Best Friends
Best Friends
Author: Martha Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 408
Review Date: 7/5/2006


When Clare Mann arrives at Oberlin in 1973, she's never met anyone like Sally Rose. Rich and beautiful, Sally is utterly foreign to a middle-class, Midwestern Protestant like Clare-- and utterly fascinating. The fascination only grows when Sally brings her home to LA to Mr. Rose-- charismatic, charming, and owner of a profitable business shrouded in secrecy--is nearly as compelling a figure to Clare as he is to his own daughter. California seems like paradise after winters in Ohio. And Clare begins to look foward desperately to these visits, to carefree rides in Sally's Kharmann Ghia and lazy poolside days.

As the years pass, Clare becomes a Dr and Sally a lawyer, always remaining roommates at heart, a plane ride or phone call away. Marriages and divorces and births and deaths do not separate them. But secrets might-- for as Clare watches, the Rose family begins to self-destruct before her eyes. And the things she knows are the kinds of things that no one wants to tell a best friend...


Brave New World
Brave New World
Author: Aldous Huxley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 791
Review Date: 7/5/2006


I wasn't a huge fan of this book, but my husband absolutely loved it!


Bridget Jones's Diary (Bridget Jones, Bk 1)
Bridget Jones's Diary (Bridget Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 716
Review Date: 7/5/2006


This book, along with the movie, are great!


The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories
The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/9/2020
Helpful Score: 1


While I am glad all the short stories are now in one book so you don't have to track them down in other books, there really was only one story that was really needed to help understand a few things in the series. The rest of the short stories were kind of side stories that didn't add or take away anything from the larger series.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2539
Review Date: 8/19/2006


Great book...even better as a movie. Dust cover gone, book in great condition.


Leftover Love
Leftover Love
Author: Janet Dailey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/19/2007


LAYNE MACDONALDS SEARCH FOR THE MOTHER WHO HAD GIVEN HER UP AT BIRTH TOOK HER TO A SPRAWLING NEBRASKA RANCH, WHERE THE WEST WOVE IT'S SPELL AROUND HER. BUT WHEN SHE MET CREED DAWSON, PART OWNER OF THE RANCH, SHE WAS BEWILDERED BY HIS BRUSQUE AND DISTANT MANNER. AS HE TAUGHT HER TO ROPE, CORRAL AND RIDE, LAYNE BEGAN TO SENSE THE SECRET ANGUISH THAT HAD FROZEN HIS HEART....AND REALIZED TO HER SUPRISE, THAT SHE WAS FALLING IN LOVE. ONLY A BRAVE, DETERMINDED WOMAN WOULD EVER REACH THE PASSIONATE MAN BEHIND CREEDS STERN FACADE AND LAYNE VOWED THAT SHE WOULD BE THE ONE.


A Little Help from Above
A Little Help from Above
Author: Saralee Rosenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 7/5/2006


This book was really good. I've read it a few times and decided it was time to part ways. It's a quick read.


Memories of My Melancholy Whores
Memories of My Melancholy Whores
Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Edith Grossman (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/6/2006


Very interesting!


The Nickel Boys
The Nickel Boys
Author: Colson Whitehead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/28/2020


I read this book for my book club and it got a very high rating of 4.8/5. I, however; wasn't as big a fan. I did some searching of the Dozier school after I read the book and was surprised to find a story very similar to Elwoods... but of a white person. Maybe I had the wrong understanding of the book but it seemed like it was the telling of a wronged black person, because he was black. But... how weird it appears to be based off something that actually happened in real life.. but to a white guy. So was the point about racial injustice or about the schools injustice (for both black and white). In the end... I wasn't a fan. I guess the finding of Jerry Coopers story ruined any positive feelings I had for the book. It just made it confusing.


Out Of The Dust
Out Of The Dust
Author: Karen Hesse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/5/2006


This is poetry.


The Pilot's Wife
The Pilot's Wife
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1672
Review Date: 7/5/2006


This book is wonderful!


The Rosetta Bone: The Key to Communication Between Humans and Canines
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Building the communication with your dog. For dog lovers, easy to read and follow.


While I Was Gone
While I Was Gone
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 742
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Despite having a loving husband, three vivacious daughters, a beautiful home in Massachusetts, and satisfaction in her work, Jo Becker's mind is invaded by a persistnet restlessness. Then, an old roommate reappears to bring back Jo's memories of her early 20's.... Her obsession with that period of her life and with the crime that concluded it eventually estrange Jo from everything she holds dear, causing her to tell lie after lie as she is pulled closer to this man from her past--- and a horrible secret. ---Milwaukee Journal Sentinel


1 to 14 of 14