Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Janet T. (jltraweek1) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Barbie: Skipper's Baby-Sitting Blues
Barbie: Skipper's Baby-Sitting Blues
Author: Lynn Offerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/29/2016


Very cute. My daughter (8 1/2) really liked it. These Barbie books are a bit above her reading level but I read them with her.


Barbie The Peasant or the Princess (Barbie And Friends Book Club)
Barbie The Peasant or the Princess (Barbie And Friends Book Club)
Author: Rita Balducci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/8/2017


These books are a great bridge from beginning chapter books to more intermediate ones--my daughter is currently reading A to Z mysteries and likes these too, but I think these are a little more wordy and have less pictures than the mysteries. We have enjoyed the Barbie series as read-alouds for the last year and now she reads them on her own. I think these Barbie stories are sweet, well done and cover a variety of subjects. There are 6 chapters with 6 or 8 pictures per book. My daughter is working on collecting the whole series!


Review Date: 6/11/2017


We have had this book for a while and it looks like a good resource. I have only made a couple of the recipes (and there really are a lot, with nice pictures!). They were good, just seemed very sweet for our taste. Lots pf ideas and good explanations of substitutions and various alternative ingredients.


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, Bk 1)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, Bk 1)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3617
Review Date: 7/13/2020
Helpful Score: 1


I did read this book years ago and finally got it for my daughter who is 12. I think a lot of people give their kids this series when they are too young. There is some yucky stuff in there, the shadowy form of someone drinking the blood of a dead unicorn, the guy with a talking face in the back of his head with two people inhabiting his body at the end. I actually really love fantasy and this author has some very imaginative ideas in the book, but the dark stuff I wouldn't give to younger kids. So it's okay. I'll have to try the next one or two, but I'm not dying to see what happens next.


The Pyramid Adventure (Barbie)
The Pyramid Adventure (Barbie)
Author: Rita Balducci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/24/2016


My 8 year old daughter really liked this book, and as we had just studied ancient Egypt it was a good add-on. It is not full of facts but is respectful and tasteful. Barbie comes to visit a friend who is an archaeologist, and while in an ancient tomb with her Barbie gets lost from her friends when she follows a strange sound. She finds the source of the sound--a kitten, decides to wait for her friends to find her, falls asleep and has a dream of herself and her friend as princesses of ancient Egypt. We especially enjoyed the pictures.


A Sea of Friends (Barbie)
A Sea of Friends (Barbie)
Author: Rita Balducci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/8/2016


My 8 year old daughter liked this story very much, I read it to her. Barbie leaves her mermaid family/friends to travel to the northwest coast with an orca friend for the summer. There she meets and talks with a human, a native woman there, and finds that mermaids and humans are not so different from each other. A mischievous little seal friend is lost and the human and mermaid work together to restore her to her mother. Sweet story and pictures.


The Sorcerer's Trap
The Sorcerer's Trap
Author: Fay Sampson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/18/2018


I'd call this book for kids 12+, depending on their maturity. I found nothing objectionable, and I'm a bit cautious. The story is about two societies that inhabit a pre-Industrial (feudal-era?) Earth-like world, one is the conquered and serve as workers for the conquerors. The conquerors have magic to keep them in power, but the conquered have a secret bond with some small wise creatures that serves to change their world. A servant boy, his sister, a princess of the conquerors and her brother work together to foil the plans of the powerful sorceror. I felt the characters and story were extremely well developed and am very glad I found this author. The cover illustration is interesting, though maybe a little inaccurate, but the story is an engaging adventure--kids will think about what it would be like to be a servant vs. what it could be like to be powerful and what obligations might go with it. How can two young people change/unite their divided world?


The Soul of Discipline: The Simplicity Parenting Approach to Warm, Firm, and Calm Guidance- From Toddlers to Teens
Review Date: 3/2/2021


I have read Kim John Payne's other books and followed his website/newsletter since my kids were in early elementary school. His books encourage compassionate parenting that is so back-to-basics that it should work for everyone. I love his perspective and wisdom for raising children secure in their parents' authority and love.


1 to 8 of 8