Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Marcie D. (PatchesMom) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 92 - Page:
After the Fire (Large Print)
After the Fire (Large Print)
Author: Henning Mankell
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/27/2019


I bought this book for the Senior citizens library that needs large print. Not many seniors have read it yet. However, I've notice when they check out the book, it has been returned in just a few short days. They are not generally fast readers. So I can't determine, as yet, how it is generally liked.


The Amateur: Barack Obama in the White House
The Amateur: Barack Obama in the White House
Author: Edward Klein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/25/2012


easy to read, also factual. The author didn't excuse the subject b/c he is an amateur.


America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
Author: Sarah Palin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/30/2011


compilation of Sarah's views re: current events


America: Imagine the World Without Her
America: Imagine the World Without Her
Author: Dinesh D'Souza
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/20/2018


Excellent book about our history and culture


America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
Author: Ben Carson M.D.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/20/2017


Excellent and informative read. I enjoyed it as I have all of his other books.


An Unquiet Mind
An Unquiet Mind
Author: Kay Redfield Jamison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/3/2012


Author recounts her personal struggle with bi-polar illness.


Anything Is Possible (Amgash, Bk 2)
Anything Is Possible (Amgash, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/16/2020


EXCELLLENT NARRATIVE OF FORMER CHARACTERS IN STROUT'S PREVIOUS BOOK(S). i READ IT TWICE :-)


A Beautiful Mind (Large Print)
A Beautiful Mind (Large Print)
Author: Sylvia Nasar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/23/2011


a interesting psycho-biography of the brilliant yet complicated young man


Bellevue Square
Bellevue Square
Author: Michael Redhill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/25/2022


did not interest me


The Benedict Option: A Strategy for Conservative Christians in a Post-Christian Nation
Review Date: 8/26/2022


It's a keeper. I loved it


The Best Is Yet to Come
The Best Is Yet to Come
Author: Judith Gould
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/15/2021


I don't have time to read all of the books I order for the senior citizens library I volunteer to manage. However, after I log them and they are checked out by the older ladies I hear how much they enjoy them, if they do. And I've been told they've enjoyed this book.


Born Under a Million Shadows: A Novel
Born Under a Million Shadows: A Novel
Author: Andrea Busfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/12/2020


INTERESTING, ENGAGING NOVEL ABOUT LIFE IN A WARN TORN DOUNTRY


Breaking Wild
Breaking Wild
Author: Diane Les Becquets
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/13/2020


intriguing book, full of adventure but frightening when she was lost in the Mountains when hunting with her bow & arrowm


Building a Better Teacher: How Teaching Works (and How to Teach It to Everyone)
Review Date: 5/5/2022


Most helpful


CODE RED
CODE RED
Author: Nancy Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/31/2009


Exciting, heart-stopping thriller, hard to put down, a medical mystery difficult to solve. By author of SPECIAL TREATMENT and SIDE EFFECTS.


Confusion (Cazalet Chronicle, Bk 3)
Confusion (Cazalet Chronicle, Bk 3)
Author: Elizabeth Jane Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/10/2019


Great Writer, Elizabeth Jane Howard, writes Wonderful books, The Cazelet family Saga continues. Now I must follow the Sequel by reading the next, "Casting Off" Can't wait. Thanks


Crashing Through: A True Story of Risk, Adventure, and the Man Who Dared to See (Random House Large Print (Hardcover))
Review Date: 8/26/2021


book is so inspiring, very interesting


The Crisis of Islam: Holy War and Unholy Terror
The Crisis of Islam: Holy War and Unholy Terror
Author: Bernard Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/16/2011


Very informative! Best book re: Islam I've read in a long time.


Culture of Corruption: Obama and His Team of Tax Cheats, Crooks, and Cronies
Review Date: 7/11/2012


Malkin documents the evidence; can't fault her about the evidence she presents to readers who care deeply about good government.


The Dark Side of Camelot (Wheeler Large Print Book Series (Cloth))
The Dark Side of Camelot (Wheeler Large Print Book Series (Cloth))
Author: Seymour M. Hersh
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/19/2020


the book reviewed for me all that I had heard and read in the media since it first occurred.


1 to 20 of 92 - Page: