Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Lucinda L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 78 - Page:
Academ's Fury (Codex Alera, Bk 2)
Academ's Fury (Codex Alera, Bk 2)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Different from Butcher's Dresden books but I am enjoying this series as well.


Across the Void: A Novel
Across the Void: A Novel
Author: S.K. Vaughn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/10/2019


Excellent! A great story in the same vein of The Martian.


Alas, Babylon
Alas, Babylon
Author: Pat Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/27/2017


I read this book many years ago and loved it! It really makes you think about global devastation and what is possible. Highly recommend it!


Alpine Condo Crossfire
Alpine Condo Crossfire
Author: Mignon G. Eberhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Great example of an Agatha Christie-like mystery. Small group of characters but who done it?


An Arcadian Death (Inspector Alvarez, Bk 18)
An Arcadian Death (Inspector Alvarez, Bk 18)
Author: Roderic Jeffries
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/10/2019


The Inspector Alvarez series was written mostly before 2000. They take place in Mallorca, Spain, an island. I find these very enjoyable. Alvarez is held to be incompetent by his superiors in Madrid, but he has a keen mind and a sympathetic heart.


The Astral Alibi (Stellar Investigations Detective Agency, Bk 2)
The Astral Alibi (Stellar Investigations Detective Agency, Bk 2)
Author: Manjiri Prabhu
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I like this series a lot. It's well-written and the characters are fun.


Banker
Banker
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Love Dick Francis! This is his usual exceptional mystery with a lovable main character.


The Bayou Road
The Bayou Road
Author: Mignon G. Eberhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Good example of Eberhart's period mysteries.


Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Author: Emilie Richards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I like this series a lot. It's well-written and the characters are fun.


Caravan to Vaccares
Caravan to Vaccares
Author: Alistair MacLean
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/15/2011


I read MacLean's books years ago and was awed by his writing skill. I read this one again recently and still find it wonderfully exciting. The French countryside, Gypsy environment is exotic and the plot twist at the end is a surprise. The action never stops!


Castle in the Air
Castle in the Air
Author: Donald E. Westlake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/14/2013


Got this for my mom. She loves Donald Westlake.


Cat in a Diamond Dazzle (Midnight Louie, Bk 5)
Cat in a Diamond Dazzle (Midnight Louie, Bk 5)
Author: Carole Nelson Douglas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/5/2014


Midnight Louie and Temple Barr are a great pair! This series is fast moving and full of action. Louie narrates his own chapters and is very educated (for a cat). Temple is always getting into troubling situations and Louie often comes to her rescue. The peripheral characters are all fun and believable.


The Cat, the Quilt and the Corpse (Cats in Trouble, Bk 1)
The Cat, the Quilt and the Corpse (Cats in Trouble, Bk 1)
Author: Leann Sweeney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Loved this one!


The Cincinnati Red Stalkings (Mickey Rawlings, Bk 5)
The Cincinnati Red Stalkings (Mickey Rawlings, Bk 5)
Author: Troy Soos
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/12/2016


As a life-long Cincinnati fan, this one of the series is of special interest to me. My whole family is enjoying this series. Mickey is such a likable character.


Cloche and Dagger (Hat Shop, Bk 1)
Cloche and Dagger (Hat Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Jenn McKinlay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 7/16/2017


Loved it! This was my first book by this author. I will definitely read more.


Corpse Pose (Mantra for Murder, Bk 1)
Corpse Pose (Mantra for Murder, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Killian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This is a fun new series. It's well-written and the characters are fun.


Dance of the Bones (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 22) (Walker Family, Bk 5)
Dance of the Bones (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 22) (Walker Family, Bk 5)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/16/2015


J P Beaumont and Brandon Walker join forces to solve a cold case with links to recent smuggling and kidnapping. Lots of Native American lore and details add to the action. It has a kind of Hillerman-kind of flavor. Also includes a short story that is actually a prequel to the main book. I recommend reading the short story first.


Danger Money
Danger Money
Author: Mignon G Eberhart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Good example of Eberhart's Agatha Christie-like mysteries.


Dark Sky Island: A Jennifer Dorey Mystery
Dark Sky Island: A Jennifer Dorey Mystery
Author: Lara Dearman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2020


Really good, tightly written mystery! Characters and plot were well-done and the scenery is powerful.


A Deadly Shade of Gold (Travis McGee, Bk 5)
A Deadly Shade of Gold (Travis McGee, Bk 5)
Author: John D. MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2012


Another great Travis McGee adventure! As always, John D McDonald does not disappoint.


1 to 20 of 78 - Page: