Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Sallie M. (oldrockandroll) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 281 - Page:
19 Yellow Moon Road (Sisterhood, Bk 33)
19 Yellow Moon Road (Sisterhood, Bk 33)
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/8/2022


Another great read in The Sisterhood Series by Fern Michaels. This time the story revolves around Maggie's friend, Gabby. She joined a spiritual retreat but of course everything is not what it's supposed to be and there are nefarious goings on at The Haven. Jack is the only Men of the Sisterhood involved in this story and has a small part. I wish she would write these stories faster. They are that good!


3 Truths and a Lie: A Detective D. D. Warren Story
3 Truths and a Lie: A Detective D. D. Warren Story
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/26/2016


I really liked this story. Too bad it could have not been longer than 2 CDs. I really like the D D Warren novels. Each book Lisa Gardner writes gets better each time!


90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 880
Review Date: 9/18/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I was really disappointed in this book. I wanted to read more descriptions and images of heaven. There was only a couple of page devoted to it. Most of the book was about the author's recovery from his accident. Granted, he has been able to help people thru his ordeal, but the book was an overall disappointment.


The 9th Man (Luke Daniels)
The 9th Man (Luke Daniels)
Author: Steve Berry, Grant Blackwood
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/29/2023


This book is the best book I have read in a very long time. Being one of my favorite authors is a definite plus. This is the first book involving Luke Daniels, usually a secondary character to the main character, Cotton Malone. Don't get me wrong, I really like Cotton Malone, but Luke Daniels is my absolute favorite character. This book revolves around the incidents involving the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. I know that subject has been beaten to death, but I really enjoyed this perspective. Steve Berry always tells you in his books what is fact and what is fiction. This book does not disappoint and I can not recommend this book highly enough! It is well worth the read. There are more Luke Daniels books coming, which I am really looking forward to. This book was written in collaboration with Grant Blackwood. I have never read any of his books but I will definitely have to check them out.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 11/4/2012


I have read all of Linwood Barclay's books so far. This one is a disappointment. It really drags in places and usually his books I can't put down. Not so with this one. It is wordy in places and is not as good as his previous novels. There a lot of twists and turns towards the end of the book, which helps somewhat. This novel is just not one of his best.


Accused (Rosato & DiNunzio, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/29/2015


Another great book by Lisa Scottoline. I really like all of her books, especially the Rosato and Associates stories. The characters are so unique, quirky, fun, and down to earth. I look forward to the next book in this series.


The Affair
The Affair
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/29/2021


I agree with Kristina A.'s review. I love Danielle Steel books because they are easy to read, you don't have to think, just read and enjoy. Her novels run the gamut from contemporary to based on historical event or facts. This was a easy read, but also thought provoking. It sometimes makes you wonder what you would do in the same situation. I would wholeheartedly read this book again and will continue to read her books. Like Kristina, I have been reading them since I was a teenager.


All That Glitters
All That Glitters
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/26/2021


I agree with Kristina's review. The characters are well written and developed, a very contemporary novel. All Danielle Steel's books are so easy to read and I so hate when they end. I really liked Coco and Sam, down to earth characters and very relatable. This book was over way too quickly!


All the Dangerous Things: A Novel
All the Dangerous Things: A Novel
Author: Stacy Willingham
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/24/2023


This is the second book written by this author and it is so good. In my opinion, it's better than the first book she wrote. In this book. Isabelle Drake's life is turned upside down when her toddler son, Mason, was taken in the middle of the night while she and her husband were asleep in the next room. The book goes back to her childhood with an incident with her sister, who dies. Isabelle thinks she is responsbile for her sister's death and somehow responsible for her son's disappearance. There are a lot of twists and turns to this book, some totally unexpected. An excellent read!


Along Came Trouble (Trinity Harbor, Bk 3)
Along Came Trouble (Trinity Harbor, Bk 3)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 6/9/2012


A friend of mine gave me a few Sherryl Woods' books to read. This is the third book in the Trinity Cove series. I thought it was the best of the three. Romance, mystery, and suspense. All of the books I have read so far are fun and easy to read. I normally don't read this type of book, but have really enjoyed them. Will read more by this author.


The Angel Maker
The Angel Maker
Author: Alex North
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/28/2023


I was not impressed with this book. The author's first two books were much better than this one. The characters were a jumbled mess and I couldn't keep them straight except for Katie and her brother, Chris. I stuck it through and finished the book, but I much rather would have read something else.


Baby Teeth: A Novel
Baby Teeth: A Novel
Author: Zoje Stage
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/17/2021


This book has gotten a lot of rave reviews. I read the whole book, much to my dismay. I didn't like it in the beginning, grew to like it and didn't like the ending. The ending left you hanging, open for a sequel. The girl in this this book, Hannah, is a spoiled rotten evil child. There is nothing to like about her or her parents for that matter. I am sorry that I read the book to the end.


Beach Lane
Beach Lane
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/15/2012


I really liked this book the best so far of the Chesapeake Shores series. It is a fast read, full of laughter, tears, hope, faith, and triumph. Looking forward to the next book in the series.


Beauchamp Hall
Beauchamp Hall
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/27/2019


Danielle Steel books are always an easy quick read. She picks topics that are in the here and now. This one is about a woman who gets screwed over 3 times within 1 hour and how she deals with it. Would recommend.


A Beautiful Corpse (Harper McClain, Bk 2)
A Beautiful Corpse (Harper McClain, Bk 2)
Author: Christi Daugherty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/10/2021


I really like the Harper McClain series. She is an investigative reporter in Savannah, Georgia. The descriptions of the area are good. I have never been to Savannah, but I can picture the area thru the author's descriptions. I must admit I read this book out of order in the series. but it did not keep me from understanding what is going on in the book. Would recommend the author for this series of books.


Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Author: Jamie McGuire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 3/25/2013


I absolutely LOVED this book! Sure, Travis is a bad boy, but he has a good heart and really loves Abby. This is the first book I have read by this author, but will not be the last. The sequel to this book, Walking Disaster, comes out soon. It is from Travis' view point and I can hardly wait!


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 6/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book is excellent for a first time novel! The book kept you in suspense and on the edge of you seat I figured out part of the ending, but it was a total surprise. I can hardly wait til her next book comes out!


Beneath the Shadows
Beneath the Shadows
Author: Sara Foster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/1/2013


This book did keep me guessing til the end, but I was not very impressed with the book. The ending felt very rushed and disjointed. Overall, a fair read.


Beneath This Man (This Man, Bk 2)
Beneath This Man (This Man, Bk 2)
Author: Jodi Ellen Malpas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/16/2014


This second book was even better than the first!! The characters are so real and down to earth. I am waiting to get the third book in the trilogy. This is so much better than the 50 Shades trilogy!


Betrayed (Rosato & DiNunzio, Bk 2)
Betrayed (Rosato & DiNunzio, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/30/2016


I love love love this book! This is my favorite book of Lisa Scottoline and the favorite so far of Rosato and Associates. I agree that the bickering could have been less, but it is part of the characters' personalities. I am really looking forward to the next Rosato and Associates book!


1 to 20 of 281 - Page: