Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Melissa B. (dragoneyes) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 785 - Page:
77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 1/26/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I've been a long time Koontz fan. The last 5 or 6 years I have been on hiatus from his books because they were becoming such disappointments. I love the way Koontz pulls you in and doesn't let go but lately he hasn't been doing that. Then I got this book and decided to try him again. Although the pull was only "somewhat" there in the beginning it still held my interest. That pull did arrive about the middle of the book and then all the way until the end. I could hardly put it down!
The Pendleton is a luxury apartment complex built on 77th Shadow Street. The building has had a lot of weird things happen there and people have died but that was a long time ago. But now the building has seemed to awaken and everyone who lives there will be fighting for their lives.
The book is set up differently than other Koontz books. He had sections that were short snip-its of the characters, he had a section on "The One", and sections on things that were happening in the Pendleton and around. The ones on the characters were my favorite parts to read. Although I found them a bit confusing because there were so many characters, it didn't take but one or 2 sentences in each section to realize who they were exactly. I found myself really liking a lot of the characters and not liking others but thought the development of each was enjoyable.
I personally recommend this book but it seems that some of Koontz's fans like this one and some didn't. Guess you'll have to give it a try and see what you think.


Abhorsen (Abhorsen, Bk 3)
Abhorsen (Abhorsen, Bk 3)
Author: Garth Nix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 11/16/2010


I just finished the Abhorsen. What a wonderful read. The book picks right up from where Lirael left off. We find Lirael, Sam, the Disreputable Dog, and Mogget off on their quest to stop the Destroyer and all that stand with It. I went through the book wondering if Lirael would be able to handle being the Abhorsen in waiting, what the role of Wallmaker, for Sam, would be, who really was the Disreputable Dog and which side is Mogget really on? It was very fast paced and I could hardly put it down. Sad to see it end though.


The Affair of the Mysterious Letter
The Affair of the Mysterious Letter
Author: Alexis Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/4/2020


Vampires, necromancers and pirates... oh my! You'll find all of them and more crammed into this marvelous book. This was a fun adventure that is told by Captain John Wyndham. After looking for somewhere to live he finds a spot that he shares with the outspoken Ms. Shaharazad Haas. She a little much for his delicate sensibilities but the adventure that she offers him is one that he cannot pass up.
I loved going on this adventure with these two and watching them get in trouble at every turn. The only part that took away from it was that a great many of the characters seemed to have foul mouths. Don't worry, it would be beyond John to put those words in this book but we were repeatedly told that. At first it was funny but after awhile, it got a bit annoying. All in all I am hoping to see another adventure in future.


After the Flood
After the Flood
Author: Kassandra Montag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/3/2020
Helpful Score: 1


This book had the potential to be great but didn't quite make it. It started out strong and I was immediately captivated with the world and what was going on. Taking place in a post apocalyptic world where most of the earth is flooded and there is very little land. On top of that, there is no government and people struggle everyday whether it is on dry land or out in the water.
In this story we travel around with Myra and her daughter, Pearl, as she looks for her other missing daughter, Row. We travel with her and learn of her past and of her present journeys.
I was very much into this story but about halfway through, I was getting to the point that I didn't like our main character or her daughter too much. The mother came across as self-centered and had poor decision making. The daughter was just kind of weird. I still enjoyed the story but at about three quarters through I felt the book should've ended by now. It seemed to be 100+ pages too long for me. I think I could've walked away and enjoyed it with that but as Myra kept making bad decisions and putting everyone around her in danger, my irritation with her grew stronger. Yet, when a decision needed to be made, everyone in the group looked at her for her final say. Why would you do that?? Luckily, there were a couple of characters I really liked but most of them, not so much.
Anyway, it was still a good read especially for a first novel. Would look at reading more from this author.


Agnes at the End of the World
Agnes at the End of the World
Author: Kelly McWilliams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/7/2021
Helpful Score: 1


This book had a lot of potential but ended up not living up to it. It had some great elements mixed in... a religious cult and a pandemic that was ending the world. Of course, the cult leaders claimed the pandemic was caused by the "outsiders" and their wicked ways. This sets off a crazy chain of events.
The chapters go between 2 main characters, Agnes and her younger sister Beth. These young ladies feel the hardship of the cult especially when women are nothing and have no say in anything. Agnes is devote while Beth is the opposite.
The book had some great aspects. The cult was like a lot of ones that you read about. The make up of the pandemic was pretty original and kind of creepy. Agnes was a good main character to follow along with. There were some things that took away from the book as well. The religion was pretty heavy handed throughout the book. While this didn't bother me a whole lot, it did wear on you after a bit. There was also Beth. She started out okay but once an egg got thrown in her face she kept changing personalities. It wasn't just a bit, it was major back and forth through the book. I ended up hating her chapters and didn't want to read them. It did get better at the end. The last thing that I would say brought the score down was it was a bit too long. Probably could've had a 100 pages shaved off of it. There was a point where I struggled to continue since it seemed to go on and on.
All in all it was a pretty good book and I enjoyed reading it.


Air Awakens (Air Awakens Series Book 1)
Air Awakens (Air Awakens Series Book 1)
Author: Elise Kova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/6/2017


Really enjoyed this book. The idea was a bit different and the characters were well drawn out. The main character is someone I could relate to. She was a hard worker, funny, smart and loved books. I enjoyed reading about her and her days in the library. When the story takes off further to forbidden magic, I enjoyed reading about that as well. Even the romance wasn't too overly done (which tends to happen in YA). Looking for to the next book in the series!


The Album of Dr. Moreau
The Album of Dr. Moreau
Author: Daryl Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/12/2021


Daryl Gregory is a "go-to" author for me. Although I haven't read everything he has written, I have loved everything I've read so far. This one is no exception. It was fun, witty and had an excellent cast of characters. From the animal/human boy band to the ex-magician's apprentice now detective, it was a crazy and fun ride. Very original and well put together. Can't wait for more from this wonderful author!


The Alchemaster's Apprentice: A Novel
The Alchemaster's Apprentice: A Novel
Author: Walter Moers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/22/2014


What a fun book! I enjoyed every ounce of it. It's about a creature called a Crat. Which is very close to being a cat but can speak many languages. They are pretty rare. This particular Crat is named Echo. Echo finds himself in a quandary when his mistress dies and he has no where to go. He wanders the streets of Zamonia starving. When, at the point where he cannot go any further, he meets Ghoolion, the town's Alchemaster. Ghoolion strikes up a deal with Echo... I'll feed you the finest food but after a month is gone, I get to kill you so I can render your fat. Starving, Echo takes him up on his deal. But Ghoolion has another thing coming if he thinks this will be easy.
I loved how much fun this book was. I enjoyed all the different characters I got to meet. The only downfall was my own doing. I listened to the audio book instead of reading it. Even though the narrator was perfect, I have now seen the book and all of the wonderful illustrations and wish I would have read it instead. Looking forward to more of Moers' books.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 11/15/2010


I wasn't sure what to expect from this book. One friend that read it really loved it. Another friend couldn't stand it and couldn't even finish it. I went into it not sure if I even wanted to try. It turns out to be a very simple read. Nothing profound, no big flattering words, no elegant prose but I found myself enjoying it all the same. It had a lot of ideas and philosophy that I liked to sit back and ponder on. I love a book that makes you think. It is about a simple shepherd boy who seeks out his own personal legend. The book is about the journey he makes, the people he meets and the things he learns. Don't open this book thinking it is a literary masterpiece... just ease into it a look at it for the simple meaning and beautiful story it gives.


The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga, Bk 1)
The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga, Bk 1)
Author: Elise Kova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/3/2020


Good story with great characters. The story itself was interesting and the world that it was centered around was captivating but what sold the story for me was the characters. By then end of the book I was so endeared to Ari, Florence & Cvareh. I'm very excited to find out what happens with this group. Will continue to the next book.


Aleister Arcane
Aleister Arcane
Author: Steve Niles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/20/2020


This was a fun read with really nice artwork. It had a great story but it felt really rushed as well. Would've liked the story to be more drawn out and a bit more attention to the characters.


All Good People Here
All Good People Here
Author: Ashley Flowers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/1/2022


The book was really great. Lots of twists and turns. Great characters and plot. The story would've received a 5 star review from me except that ending. Throughout the story we bounce back from past to present. The ending tied up the past but left the present hanging. Didn't care for that but still enjoyed the story enough that I would read another by this author.


All Hallows
All Hallows
Author: Christopher Golden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/4/2023


This wasn't one of my favorite books by Golden but it was good. Set in the 80's around Halloween, it had all the vibes that I was looking for. Small town, great characters and a spooky forest. The story line started off great but about halfway through, it lost its momentum. Still, the twist in the plot helped make up for that.

In this story we have many characters, which at times was hard to follow, that are all getting ready for Halloween in their own way. There is the yearly haunted forest that many love to go to for a creepy good time, there are trick-or-treaters putting finishing touches on their costumes, and families doing last minute decorations and getting supper ready. Everything seems perfect until it isn't. We see the flaws and the struggles that the families run into. Not every family is perfect and this is the day that it all comes out.

Once it gets to Halloween night, our characters, in their own groups, start running into kids that are in costume that they don't recognize. It doesn't take long to figure out something is going on. As the night goes by, the newly arrived kids beg to be protected until midnight from the Cunning Man. Things build from there and then a whole lot of crazy starts happening.

What takes away from a really good story is the characters and their lives. At first this seems to be the cherry on top but as the story progresses, we learn about this girl's crush, Then they bring it up⦠again and again and again. Or we keep hearing about the spouse's infidelity⦠again and again and again.. This really wears on you. Every time something happens with that character group, the story stalls in back tracking on their issues then goes back to the action.

Still, even struggling with that and wanting to scream âI KNOWâ so many times, I still enjoyed the book. I thought the Cunning Man was creepy and the kids creepier. Loving the 80's and Halloween just made me right at home.


All Systems Red (Murderbot Diaries, Bk 1)
All Systems Red (Murderbot Diaries, Bk 1)
Author: Martha Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 8/30/2018


I am so impressed on how much could go into such a small book. Loved it!
This story is about Murderbot, a security robot with organic parts. These robots are used to protect the crew from danger except this one has gone rogue... in a good way. He hacked his governor switch and now can do and think on his own. In that time, he likes to stay clear of humans (they make him uncomfortable) and watches entertainment feeds. Yet, when the crew comes under danger, can Murderbot be trusted to help the crew?
Ready to jump into the next book in this series!


All the Living and the Dead: From Embalmers to Executioners, an Exploration of the People Who Have Made Death Their Life's Work
Review Date: 11/11/2023


If you take 3/4 of this book out, keeping only the facts, it would've been a great book. Instead it is heavily loaded with the author's opinions and rants. Even a little bit of that would've been okay but it was way too crammed with the unnecessary. There was a section on people who donate their body to science. At one point the author comments that your death is pointless unless you go this route. Then she is like just kidding but yeah, it is pointless. Death is very personal for people and it is irritating to see her pushing judgement on those who make other decisions. It goes on like this throughout the book and it really kept me from truly enjoying it.


The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects
The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects
Author: Mike Mignola, Dave Stewart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/3/2018


I really enjoyed this one. It is a compilation of short stories. The first story was one of my favorites. It had me snickering throughout. The other stories we very good as well. The art work was great. There were a few places where I couldn't tell exactly what was going on but it didn't take away from the story.


American Predator: The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century
Review Date: 1/20/2020


A very creepy and disturbing read. I remember seeing info on Keyes here and there but I don't remember it really becoming much of a big deal. This book explains why.
Israel Keyes was a serial killer and one that was quite different from many of the others. He didn't have a "type" that he went after, he didn't have a certain area that he hunted, and he supposedly had a good childhood. Here was a guy who read a lot, who could build about anything and accomplished whatever he set out to do and yet he had a horrifying dark side. He definitely would've been one to really study but alas, it wasn't to be so.
The writing of the book kept me hooked from the beginning. I thought the author did a great job. A couple things that bothered me was the complete bias against some of the people involved and there were parts that seemed contradictory. Other than that a great story that will keep me thinking way on down the road.


The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 11/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The Amulet of Samarkand is the first book of The Bartimaeus Trilogy. It is about a 12 year old boy named Nathaniel who becomes an apprentice to a magician. The magician is uncaring and hard on Nathaniel while the magician's wife is very kind to him. Nathaniel dreams of going to Parliament with the other magicians and is bored by how slow his studies are going. He decides to study on his own and learns a great deal more than an apprentice his age should. After being humilated in front of many other magicians by Simon Lovelace (a magician himself), Nathaniel is set for revenge. He summons a djinni named Bartimaeus. From there many things happen that seem to get the both of them into more trouble than they were in the beginning. But they both know that Simon Lovelace is up to something bad but can they prove it? Will they ever be to overcome their bad luck? Will Nathaniel's dream of Parliament ever come true? You must read to find out!


And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer
Review Date: 7/24/2017
Helpful Score: 2


A very heartwarming and sentimental read about love and growing old. It battles the effects of slowing losing your mind and how difficult it is for the person experiencing it and to their loved ones. It was a short read but very sweet nonetheless.


The Angel Maker
The Angel Maker
Author: Alex North
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/1/2023


A suspenseful book that kept me entertained right up to the end. I even had a bunch of the mystery figured out before it ended and yet enjoyed staying with it. Good characters that interacted well and an interesting plot that kept a steady pace.
We start out with Katie Shaw in her teen years, in love and happy. Tragedy strikes and sends her and her family down a much different path than she could ever have anticipated. Fast forward into the future and Katie is married with an adorable daughter. Her once close brother is now estranged. Things still move on in a, somewhat, normal manner until her life takes another twist. The past is pushed forward and secrets start to leak out. Along with those secrets come danger. Danger for Katie, her brother and everyone else she loves.


1 to 20 of 785 - Page: